We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
79
79
50
24
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
79
50
24
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bunk beds coligny plaza grocery store can't beat the location an older resort been coming for years one bedroom unit directly across the street amazing location luxury resort hot tub laundry room kitchen area short walk to beach hilton head island tennis courts beach towels
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Spotlessly clean. Pools well maintained. Walking distance to everything: beach, nice shops, grocery store across street, restaurants, 3 pools. Security 24/7. Customer service was wonderful. Bonnie was great. Property manager was very informative. Kitchen was beautiful. Nice sized balcony. No need to even get the car keys out. Will return.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

First trip to Hilton Head. Stayed here. The time share smelled of mildew and mold. Staff in in office were you check in needs hostility training. They act like your broughting them . Came in to see if there was anything they could do about the smell. They were arguing with some quest about the wrong week. Instead of trying to solve there room problem. Mattress were old and uncomfortable. WiFi was spotty. Hot tube needs work. Grounds people nice. Not enough seating in living room. Stove was dirty. They should check to make sure rooms don’t smell before guest arrives. Needs up dated.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disappointing32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We love our week each year at Sea Crest Surf. It is in the best location across from Coligny Plaza so unless we want to can walk to stores, restaurants, and shopping. Our unit 5515 has been refurbished and so pleasant. New beds, bedding, flat screen TV in bedroom now. It's a 1 BR loft. Freshly painted and new upholstery on living room furniture. It is quiet this time of year and we only have about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Pools are great too. If you are looking for a nice small complex with good accommodations I highly recommend. We've been coming for 10 years and never regret it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Ann Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Was here on May...was told when I asked to get an extended check out time that I would be fined if not out by 10 PM...not friendly...and I'm a time share owner here...and they looked at the clock menacingly when I did check out...now I checked in again a couple of days ago and keys to my unit were given to someone who had no right to be in my unit...confusion seems to be increasing...a staffer was out sick due to a death in the family,and there was no one to replace her.Mattresses are becoming rock solid...we're told that they are replaced every 4 years..hardly seems credible.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank knobbie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

My wife and I are timeshare owners at two other resorts in Florida and we had exchanged in 2016 for a week at the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club and we used allotted points for our stay in a one bedroom unit. We had never been to Hilton Head Island before as a family. My wife had visited Hilton Head with her family back in the 70's when she was growing up. We have been to Myrtle Beach and Charleston before, but never to this place. Hilton Head is best known for its golf courses. We do not golf.

So, we had booked a 1 bedroom, 1 bath unit at the hotel for a week from 7/22 to 7/29 and we stayed in room 2215 on the 2nd floor.

All of the rooms have access from the middle part of the building and there are two elevators and one at each end of the building. There are stairs as well and there are 4-5 floors. As you enter in the middle part of the building looking towards the back of the building, there are rooms on the left and rooms on the right with stairs. The rooms on the left all have views of the back outdoor in-heated pool. The rooms on the right side have views of the outdoor heated pool by the office.

As you enter the 1 bedroom unit, here is a detailed description of the unit. I had researched previously on TripAdvisor and did not see a really detailed description of the room so I wanted to make sure that I put one out here for other travelers as well as detailed pictures.

As you enter the unit, there is a long hallway about 10-12 feet or so with a closet on the right side that has a vacuum cleaner, iron and ironing board. Right after the closet, is another hallway to the right leading to a sink outside the bathroom. There is a step right before the sink outside the bathroom. Before you reach the sink outside the bathroom, the one and only bedroom is on the right side. The bedroom has a closet, small 3 drawer dresser and flat screen tv plus an alarm clock. The bathroom is to the left of that sink. The bathroom has a tub/shower combo, sink and the toilet.

If you continue heading into the 1 bedroom unit passing the hallway leading to the bedroom and sink and bathroom, you will come upon the two twin bunk beds in the hallway area and these are perfect for smaller children. There is no railing on the top bunk bed but guests can ask the office for a rail free of charge. There is a ladder leading up against the beds. Right across from the bunks beds is a larger closet with hangers.

After you pass the bunk beds, this then leads into the dining area and full kitchen. The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator, stove, microwave, sink and dishwasher. the refrigerator had an icemaker as well. The sink also had a garbage disposal. There are two bar stools at the kitchen counter where guests can also sit as well and the chairs spin around.

You then are now in the living room area. There is a pull out sofa bed and two end tables next to the couch. There is a flat screen television and two other chairs against the wall plus a cabinet. On top of the cabinet is the router for the free Wi-Fi. There is an individual router in each unit for free Wi-Fi.

Off of the living room area is the deck or balcony that overlooks one of the outdoor pools. Your room will either overlook the back outdoor pool or the heated pool by the office. There is an ash tray for guests who want to smoke on the balcony.

Guests should follow the instructions provided by the office at check in for using the Wi-Fi which is easy. You just enter the password when prompted to sign in for the Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi connection was good overall, but there were several times when the speed slowed down significantly when all four of us were using the Wi-Fi at the same time.

Here are important details about the resort:

1. Location is excellent. The hotel is 1/2 block from Coligny Beach. The hotel is also right across the street from Coligny Plaza which has over 80 shops, 14 restaurants and a Piggly Wiggly grocery store. Guests can easily walk there and you can leave your car at the resort.

2. Guests have access to two outdoor pools plus hot tub at hotel and they also have access to pool and tiki bar and the other Sea Crest hotel located right at the beach 1/2 block away. Guests need a password code to punch in at the gate to enter the pool at the beach.

3. Only one parking place is permitted per unit. Please make note of this as the property has had issues with parking.

4. Starting 7/1/17, all guests must have in their possession a blue wristband when being at one of the three pools. Someone may check and ask to see your wristbands. Make sure that you have them with you at all times.

5. The property is older and guests were allowed to smoke in the rooms. This was a huge turnoff for us as our 1 bedroom unit had a strong smell of cigarette smell all the time. We are non-smokers and don't like to be around anyone who smokes as second hand smoke is just as deadly to your health. I can instantly tell if someone has smoked when entering a room. I find it to be a disgusting habit honestly but that is my opinion. We mentioned this to the front office who had offered to put a air ionizer in the room to get rid of the smell, but we could not be in the room when this was done. We did not decide to do this. We were told that when the property was built, the ordinance allowed guests to smoke in their rooms. We just kept the air conditioning off to get the smell down. We also had several air fresheners that we sprayed to try to eliminate and neutralize the smoke odor. The hotel staff encourages guests to smoke on the balconies but that does not always happen.

6. There are no washer and dryers in any of the units. There is a laundry room near the office with 6 washers and 7 dryers and each costs $ 1.50 in quarters to operate. the washing cycle is about 30 minutes and the drying cycle is about 45 minutes. Guests can get quarters from the front desk. Each unit has a laundry basket for guests to take their dirty laundry down to wash. We chose to bring our own collapsible laundry basket we found on Amazon which worked well. We ended up using both our basket and the one in the unit.

7. There are bike racks at the front and back of the properties if guests choose to bring their own bikes or rent bikes from the many companies here in Hilton Head. There are tons of bike trails nearby and over the island. You will see lots of people riding bikes. We rented bicycles ahead of time to arriving and guests can research this on their own prior to their arrival.

8. Guests can also ride their bikes on the beach at low tide. There is a tide listing in one of the local magazines that the hotel offers in the office.

9. The hotel has charcoal and gas grills for use by its guests on the back of the property. There is also a gazebo area with chairs and sofas out back as well near the grills.

10. There is also a small playground near the outdoor in-heated pool at the back of the property.

11. Each unit has a full kitchen and guests can easily shop at the nearby Piggly Wiggly for groceries and use a cart to wheel over across the street to the hotel. The hotel asked guests to return the carts after they were done, but there were many carts left at the hotel.

12. The resort has planned activities each week and be sure to check out the activities that are offered. The activities that were offered while we were there including make a bracelet, water aerobics, sip & paint your own wine glass, tye dye t-shirt, free wine & cheese at gazebo, family stepping stones, make your own flip flops, beach walk, paint sand dollars and modge page bottels.

13. No pool desks may be hung on the balcony railing. There is a wooden drying rack in each room that guests need to use. The hotel will fine guests $ 25 if they hang their towels on the railing each time. There is a town ordinance against doing this so you know.

14. Wi-Fi hotspots are located at the front and back pool areas.

15. Small pool toys and noodles ae not allowed in the pools as they get caught into the pool filters.

16. Seacrest now rents DVDs Sunday-Friday at $ 1.00 each per night- Exact change only and credit card is needed on file. All movies are due back by 5pm the next day. No rentals on Fridays or Saturdays.

17. Seacrest does not exchange linens. You may request a complete towel exchange for $ 5 or a complete linen exchange for $ 10.00.

18. You may request mid-week housekeeping of your unit for $ 35

19. Cribs and highchairs can be rented through the welcome center office for $ 37.45 a week for a crib and $ 21.40 for a highchair for the week.

20. Child care is not provided by the hotel

21. You may not store the bicycles inside your unit. There are bike racks in the front and back of the property.

22. Children under the age of 12 are not allowed in the hot tub which is by the office area near the heated pool.

23. No pets are allowed

24. Be sure to use the outdoor shower to wash off sand from the beach prior to coming into your unit.

25. There is no saving of chairs with towels at the pools and no glass is allowed at the pools either.

26. There is also a dumpster out back where guests need to take their trash to.

27. Check in time is 4pm. If you arrive early before this time, I recommend having a bag packed with you swimsuit, towel, etc and the office will call you on your cell when your room is ready and you can swim at the one of the pools.

Overall, we enjoyed out stay and would visit Hilton Head again. We would likely check before making a reservation to make sure that the room we get is a non-smoking room. I don't know if we would stay here again but it was a decent place and its location was everything.

I hope others find this detailed review to be helpful.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews