We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a dump, run dont walk away from this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club
Reviewed 13 June 2017

This is an older complex, dated. Roaches in pantry. The second bedroom was a bed in the hallway. We left after 3 days. The only good thing is close to beach and central to restaurants and some shopping

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T9158TUjamesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017

Stayed here as an RCI timeshare exchange for two weeks. Great accommodating staff,3 great pools,1 saltwater heated pool..nice rooms, had 2 bedroom 2.5 baths, nice clean rooms,all the bells and whistles to cook yourself or eat out just 100 steps away at the shopping Plaza with any type of restaurant you could want.. Beach short walk very nice. Bring your own beach towels , chairs and umbrella.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

Booking Sea Crest Surf and Racquet Club was the most investigative experience out of all trips that I've planned to date. I wanted to write a review to effectively help others make an informed decision on booking here. I booked the unit as an exchange through RCI. The moment that I booked the unit I didn't know much about the resort beyond the fact that I had a sleep 8 (sleep 6 private) unit and it was within walking distance to the beach. After reading a large number of reviews, some positive and many negative, I became extremely nervous about what we'd be walking into. My biggest concern was the cleanliness of the unit and I'll say first off that there were no concerns after we checked in about it being clean. The unit was well clean. While I had read in other reviews that they had experiences with dirty units, in our unit there were NO dust accumulations in corners, the carpets were clean; I had NO concerns with walking barefoot throughout the unit, the dishes in the cabinets were clean. The unit was clean.

People in other reviews also complained about the staff. I had no issues with the staff. The lady at the check in desk was pleasant and answered questions that I had. Our only issue wen we arrived in our unit was the trash under the sink hadn't been dumped.

It isn't easily noticeable when you arrive that its an older resort, but the design and configuration of the rooms makes it noticeable. The entrance to the 2 bedroom is a long hallway that is dimly lit, with a low ceiling, so it feels like a cave. There is also a step up and step down floor design in the kitchen (my little 3 yr old loved jumping off the step). I believe that smoking outdoors is permissible on the property so I could sense a smell of smoke walking around the property. The rooms have a scent of incense or some other scent possibly from them trying to cover the scent of smoke. There are no washer/dryers in the rooms, but there is a washroom with coin operating machines ($1.50 per wash).

The layout of the building is like a hotel with open air walkways (I did notice empty beer cans in the open air foyers on the ground that hadn't been cleaned up). The entryway door to each room faces inward to the open air walkways, so when people walk by, check in and out of their rooms, talk, etc., you can hear the noise easily in the bedrooms.

The only aspect of this resort that would deter my family from returning is the fact that the resort itself does not have a home-like layout and feel & the rooms are dimly lit. We are attracted to resorts that feel like a home and this resort feels more like a hotel/short stay location. If we were in the situation that we couldn't find anywhere else to stay on the island, we'd have no problem with returning.

Here is a summary of the pros and cons of Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club.

Pros:
- fantastic location, less than 3 minute walk to the beach and directly across the beach from Coligny (shopping, restaurants, grocery store, ice cream, etc.)
- access to a 3rd pool across the street at Sea Crest. This pool is great with a pool bar. Pool Bar Jim is now at this pool bar. Great fresh fruit drinks. Another benefit is if you're at the beach with little ones and need a bathroom, you can access the restrooms with your access code at this Sea Crest pool.
- Roomy 2 bedroom with 2 1/2 bathrooms

Cons:
- Older resort, building is older
- Rooms are dimly lit, makes for a dark/tunnel like feel when you walk in
- Noisey hallways can be distracting at times
- Rooms have an incense smell

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank BlessdToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The family has been going here for years. We love the close proximity to the beach, Coligny, and the bike trails keep you close to everything else. The club has received a few recent upgrades which were very much needed.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Stephenie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

The Seacrest Surf & Racquet Club turned out to be a wonderful part of our vacation on Hilton Head Island. Our one bedroom unit had more than enough space-in fact the living room/kitchen area was a big as any resort we have stayed at on the island. The living room wasn't crowded with too much furniture as in most places. Fresh paint jobs, new carpeting, granite countertops- way more than we expected. The location is incredible. Shopping is across the street at Coligny Plaza. We also had access to three pools, one of which is at the ocean, which gave us the option of "clean" swimming or taking the five minute walk to the famous Coligny Beach. Either way, you'll get all the sun and swimming you could ever want.

As a family that vacations every year on Hilton Head Island, I can say we have not stayed at a better place when you factor in size, location, cleanliness and convenience. We have stayed at the top end resorts in years past, but will not bother with them again. The Sea Crest is everything we want and need in a resort-we will be back next year.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bruincheeser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilton Head hotels
2 km away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
3.2 km away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
0.4 km away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
3.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#21 of 28 in Hilton Head
465 reviews
3.9 km away
Hilton Head Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club

Address: 3 Avocet St, Hilton Head, SC 29928-6444
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Hilton Head
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Hilton Head
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club!!A great family resort, the place to be for the best location on Hilton Head Island. At the Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club you will find 3 Swimming Pools, one of which is heated, an outdoor Hot Tub, 4 Tennis Courts & a coin operated Laundromat. The Resort has WI-FI in each Condo and at each of the Pool Areas.There is a courtyard area with shuffleboard, gas and charcoal barbeque grills, picnic tables and a playground for our little friends. On site there is also an activity center where books, games and various other items can be signed out.Guests have access to a third pool & deck overlooking the Beach, here you will find a junior Olympic size Pool, Kiddie Pool, Snack Bar (Seasonal) & Restrooms.Sea Crest accommodates each reservation with one parking spot. A parking pass for your car is passed out at check in. This pass needs to remain visible in your windshield at all times during your stay. Anyone with an additional car is welcomed to find public street parking.To those of you visiting the Sea Crest for the first time, may we offer a special WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest Surf & Racquet Club Hotel Hilton Head
Sea Crest Surf And Racquet Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing