We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,118)
Filter reviews
3,118 results
Traveller rating
2,263
623
163
45
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,263
623
163
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarum spalobby barpool areagift shopshipyard plantationcovered poolhilton head islandgrounds are beautifulhotel is beautifulzero entrybeach accessgarden viewparking lotbike rentalgreat poollong weekendthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 3,118 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We came with our 2 children, ages 10 and 11. The front desk lady was wonderful. We had previously spoken on the phone with one of their managers, George. He was absolutley wonderful. Super friendly staff and no wait to check in. Room was ready early, as requested. We just had a standard room. It was average size, as expected. Nice and clean. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was clean. Balcony was small and not much use for us. A balcony with a small breakfast table would have been great for room service breakfast. Pool is nice but gets extremely busy. No room for swimming around at all. Pool deck area was very nice, ample towels for you. My only complaint is that during the day, the chairs are all taken. Well, not taken, just have people "reserving" them with their towels then they leave and you have no clue if the chair is actually in use or not. We had to wait around for someone to leave to get 2 chairs. During our stay, there were a lot of 20-40 year old singles packed in and around the pool drinking. Not a problem for some, but for a family, it wasn't ideal. Waitress poolside was great. Food was priced as expected poolside with very large portions. Several other restaurants but we didn't get the chance to try them. Short walk to beach from your room. Beach gets very busy in this area. There are chairs and umbrellas set up for rent. We would give it 5 stars and for sure return if there was another pool area (note**there is a small covered pool area but it wasn't very clean or desirable) 1 pool during busy summer months just isn't enough.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank TeamTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide an awesome review about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable room accommodations. Customer service is of the utmost importance to us, so we are glad to hear that you found our staff to be wonderful and friendly. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family and we hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry again soon.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

First time visit loved the pool ,needed more comfy chairs(had3)after check in chairs locked up on beach, food very expensive,4$water, few cable channels, no playground, bath stuck on shower mode, refrigerator broken, hard beds, asked for quiet room but ended up next to the very vocal maids laundry early in the morning ‼️Asked them twice to stop chatting outside my “do not disturb “ door at 8am(check out is noon), after 45 minutes wait they forgot my pancakes (to go) order, again best part was pool and the very nice staff especially Courtney at the front desk who tried hard to help! If you go ask for a quiet room away from lobby (loud band) but I’d suggest Jekyl Island, St Simons Ga or Hammock Resort Palm Coast Fl.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank FloridaTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a helpful review about your visit to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool area and nice staff. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not 100 percent satisfactory. We understand the importance of these issues and will use them for training purposes as we continue to try to be the best resort on the island. We thank you for visiting us during your time in the Lowcountry.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We recently visited the Sonesta Hilton Head resort for a regional business meeting and had our families join us. This was at least the third time we have been to this resort and it is by far our favorite Hilton Head resort.

It is right on the beach with multiple conference rooms for group and breakout sessions as well as plenty of amenities for after meetings and the family. There is an outdoor and covered pool as well as hot tub and workout facilities. My wife and son rented bikes and my son even rented a surf board one morning to catch a few small waves!

The staff are exceptional. Charlie assured us when we pulled up at 2:30 and he got our luggage to take to the room that the rain would be gone by 4 and he was on the money! The service from front door to beach were always smiling and asking if we needed anything. Our group dinner and breakfast meals were excellent and covered all appetites as well as dietary concerns.

Lastly, the resort is very close to several off site restaurants, grocery stores, and shops!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you, Jeremy, for writing such a generous review about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island and welcome back! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic amenities and awesome pool area. Customer service is very important to us, so we are glad to hear that you found our staff to be exceptional. We look forward to your next visit and urge you to visit the Arum Spa for some excellent relaxation.

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful spot for a family vacation! Really impressed by everything this resort has to offer. The staff have been nothing but pleasant and accommodating since we arrived —from the bellhop to the front desk to the pool staff — all excellent and will bend over backwards to make sure you’re happy. Our standard room is plush and pristine, and above “standard” in my opinion. Also, you can’t beat the amenities here — live music, movies by the pool, and lots of kids activities. My daughter is looking forward to feeding the turtles! We will definitely be back!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Tia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Tia, I appreciate you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our pristine rooms and amazing amenities. Customer service is extremely important to us so we are glad to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay at this resort at the coast of South Carolina. It has a nice Island feel from the moment you get to the area and you forget the hustle of city life. The Bell man Jermaine was very courteous to us both times arrival and departure. Made us feel welcome. The place is huge and beautiful. Direct access to the beach. Clean rooms. Very child friendly and different activities for kids that our children got to enjoy. The one dissatisfaction during our stay was having dinner at their restaurant, the service was mediocre, the food was bland and expensive we decided to eat outside the facility the rest of our stay.
Overall it was a nice experience and it’s a 40 minute drive to Savannah.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Divanje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George H, Guest Relations Manager at Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide helpful feedback about your visit to Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful resort, clean rooms and family friendly environment. We are also thrilled that Jermaine could have such a positive impact on your experience. We hope to welcome you back to the Lowcountry again soon!

George Hartman
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews