We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveller rating
113
121
31
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
121
31
11
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main street great location the north end within walking distance front desk free breakfast falls park the breakfast area would stay here again breakfast attendant two blocks restaurants and bars room was clean and comfortable other hotels nice breakfast outdoor pool stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 294 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This was a very nice hotel in a great location near downtown greenville!! The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable! Great breakfast in the morning, too! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2017

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Greenville Downtown. We appreciate your business and your recommendation to future guests. A referral is the best compliment we can get. We hope to see you again soon. Until next time, we wish you safe travels and happy days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Great location, you can walk to the downtown area, Swamp Rabbit Trail and beautiful Falls Park on the Reedy. Staff was friendly. My son and I slept wonderfully, the beds are nice and cozy with down comforters and lots of pillows. Room was very large, we were on the fourth floor.
Breakfast the next morning was just OK. We were up at 6:00 am so everything should have been fresh, but several items (bread,egg/omelet,biscuits) were dried out already. Coffee needs to be stronger also, it was very weak.
Can not beat the location though.

Date of stay: December 2016
Thank bargingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

Very clean Hotel, friendly staff , nice Breakfast buffet with sausage, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy plus all the other continental items that most hotels have.
A nice walk to the downtown events even on our cold stay in December. Our room was on the Fifth floor it was very clean and quiet except for some minor equipment noise probably due to the all day running of the bathroom fans ? or some other equipment on the roof ? we never ran the ac/heat unit., the hallway was always quiet no noisy guests. The only issue we had was with the room cards not working all the time.
We will look forward staying there again, we loved the performing arts, falls park, and the shops.

Room tip: We requested first floor but it was not available when we got there our room was 504, far away from ice machine and elevator.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blaker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2016

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to see you had a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until next time, we wish you safe travels and happy days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Hotel is clean and convenient. As a IHG gold member I was asked in advance for special requests. I requested high floor and extra pillows. Well we were put on first floor and told there was limited housekeeping Thanksgiving schedule - No Pillows!
The real topper was when we got a call at 11:15am and told to leave the room. We told him that, as a Gold Member, it is one of the perks to check out late. in addition, they had a promotion going (SEC guests) to stay and check out late. The guy says no way, you need to leave now. We asked for 30 minutes and he said no. So the drive home was without a shower. Our son is in college up there and we have already found other accommodations in Greenville that I am certain will treat us much better.
NEVER AGAIN!

Room tip: Don't bother - they don't listen to you anyway
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BALLYBILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquiRRose, Corporate Director of Sales & Marketing, Owner Representative at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2016

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I am so sorry that our staff did not make you feel welcome. We have addressed your review and taken appropriate measures to ensure this never happens again. This is an extremely atypical experience at our hotel, as other reviews will confirm. I sincerely regret that we made you feel unwelcome. We would like the opportunity to make amends. Our general manager can be reached at ddaughenbaugh@GSPDT.com or you can contact me directly at jrose@sycamoreinvestments.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016

This review is divided into two parts: Hotel Review and Logistics/Quality Control

Hotel Review - This is a conveniently located Holiday Inn Express near the redone downtown area of Greenville, South Carolina. There is plenty of parking in front of and behind the hotel. It's safe, clean, and comfortable.

The room (on the main floor) was quiet enough, the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The television and all lights were in good working order. The room isn't overly large, but it certainly sufficed with two queen beds.

The lobby is quite nice, and spills into the breakfast area that is large and comfortable.

The breakfast itself is fine. Nothing is exceptional. it's typical of the morning offerings at budget friendly hotels.

Checkout was a breeze.

I found the service at this location to be a plus. The desk staff was attentive and helpful. They tried hard. They were overwhelmed on this particular weekend, and they did their absolute best to maintain control over an ever growing issue. But this issue has nothing to do with the overall quality of the hotel. I count the staff as a plus at this location. For a business stay or a vacation stay stopover, this is a fine option for a budget friendly hotel.

Logistics/Quality Control

Holiday Inn Express locations need to be able to suspend the heavily promoted "late check out" on weekends nonsense when there are special events in town. I suspect this was part of the problem at this location on the weekend we were in town. Late Check Out means you can check out by noon... which in turn means that the hotel has 3 hours to turn over as many rooms as possible. So, when there's a concert in town (three nights in a row, Garth Brooks) the hotel is trying to turn over 50 plus rooms and honor 70 plus check ins in the span of three hours.

And with concert goers arriving and wanting to get into their rooms to change and perhaps get ready to go to dinner before the concert, the logjam created by not being able to get rooms cleaned fast enough made for a frustrating stay on this particular weekend. I want to be clear, this is a fine hotel. Any other weekend, I am certain it would be easy in and easy out. But on this unique weekend, travelers kept coming in and were told they'd have to wait.

In our case, we were told 30 minutes. An hour and 15 minutes later, we were told it would be another 15 minutes. 45 minutes later, we were told we were next in line for a room. So, after arriving shortly before 3:45PM, we got to our room at 6:20. We waiting, patiently, in the lobby area, with children and luggage, for two and a half hours. Had we known the wait would be that long, we would have left to get dinner early and come back.

I watched patron after patron come in and grow more and more impatient. Hats off to the desk staff of two who clearly were doing anything and everything possible to try to keep folks calm. Many patrons were angry and combative. The desk personnel couldn't do much about it. Rooms can only be cleaned at the pace they can be cleaned. Even if they'd doubled the cleaning staff... I'm not sure how much help would have been offered. But an extra two hours would have helped.

I think corporate ought to permit, and the hotel ought to take advantage of suspending the late checkout policy and get guests out the door early (10AM) on weekends like this one.

Were we inconvenienced? Yes, we most certainly were. Were we displeased? Of course. We did make it to the concert, more or less on time, but we missed dinner completely and we were less than satisfied with how this turned out. With that said, the hotel stay was otherwise fine.

While ordinarily, I might not include this detail in a review, I think it's important here. This location is a 5 minute walk from the arena and should make for a great stay for the concert. But instead, it started as the perfect storm for disappointment...and that left a bad taste in our mouth.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TripTipDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Greenville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear TripTipDad,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our location to be convenient. However, we would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had at check-in. We also regret all the inconvenience you experienced during your visit. Your feedback is troubling and will surely be looked into. Rest assured it will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We value you as our guest and hope to have another opportunity to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews