We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fripp Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn St. Helena(Saint Helena Island)
USD 88*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 75*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 84*
USD 72*
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Loft Hotel(Beaufort)
USD 174*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beaufort Inn(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
USD 246*
USD 197*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 187*
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 241*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 227*
USD 199*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 450*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Ocean Ridge(Edisto Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
63
28
27
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
28
27
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature preservefamily vacationride bikesplay tennisactivity centernice golfeast coastkick back and relaxrental homebeautiful islandamenity cardfishing pierocean pointdolphin cruisesecurity gateprime seasonpools
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

So, I read all the reviews and ended up renting a Villa ( from a private owner) right on the beach ( Captain John Fripp Villas) next to the Beach Club. The island is lovely, with lots of areas for privacy ( even on the week including the 4th of July). We cooked all our meals in the villa and beyond that the biggest decisions we had to make each day was whether we wanted to lounge at one of the pools or on the beach. When we were not doing one of the above, we were riding around the island in a golf looking for deer or riding bikes on the many bike paths. I agree with others who say that the amenities on the island could be updated ( pools for example) but they were very clean.. just older. Sometimes less is more and in the case of Fripp that was definitely the case. If you are looking for quiet laid back family time this is the place for you. If you are looking for a place with arcades, water parks, and lots of dining options then you really should head to Savannah, Hilton Head or Mertyl ( spelling) Beach. We will be going back next year as we have a one year old and it was perfect for him.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbarnwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Do not rent through Fripp Island Resort. They are a major rip off. You can save tons of money by renting houses through private owners, which there are several websites available including homeaway.com and others. Fripp Island Resort charges a 3% NON REFUNDABLE "damage fee" as well as a 7% "Island Fee". They tack on fees to everything, and the rental units are more expensive and without golf carts. A lot of private rentals include a golf cart in the package.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank LLNC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Staying at a house on the canal that runs through the center of Fripp Island called Lunaseay. The house is great, center island with easy access to Bonito boathouse and marina, and the beach club.
The marina was helpful getting our boat (17' Sea Ray) in the water and giving directions for a difficult trip through the marshes to get to the canal. Boating from a house on the canal is ruled by the tides. Coming and going from the canal must be within 1-2 hours of high tide, which can be pretty limiting. Might we worth the money to dock the boat in a wet slip at the marina if you want to go out on the water any time. If you want easy access to your boat, and don't mind your boat sitting on the ground when tide goes out, then canal front homes may work for you. It varies from home to home, but you should ask.
Some of the houses for rent say that the resort pools are heated, and that there are hot tubs. Not true. None of the pools at the cabana club or the beach club are heated. At the end of March 2010 they are C-O-L-D! So, if you are planning to come and swim in the pools for spring break, be prepared for the chilly temperature of the water.
Most of the restaurants on the resort are not running on weekdays at this time, including the sand bar, the beach club, and wet willies.

We like it better than Hilton Head because we like being away from it all in a nice house. But if you are planning to use aminity cards to enjoy the resort amenities, better hold out until the summertime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sodstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Had a wonderful time. The wildlife (deer walk right past you and you can see the alligators!), bikes, pools, beautiful beach...it was so much fun with the golfcarts, watching dolphins at the marina, the Veranda beach area and pool were so much fun for my kids - they love and it feels so comfortable. So many different things to do in on the island. All the great fun stuff but yet no commercial crap. Everyone we met comes back year after year (generation after generation). We will come back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kimkeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This was the worst trip ofour lives! Husband was had huge spider bite! Brown recluse! Spent the week at a local hospital, which is not local by the way! 45 minute drive to hospital! 30 min to nearest store of any kind! Will not go back could do so much more with $6000!! A 2 liter soft drink on the island was $5.00!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank deltalvly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews