We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaron and the crab legs were fantastic”

The Folly Beach Crab Shack
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Folly Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Southern Living Magazine named the Charleston Crab Shack "One of the 10 Best Seafood Spots in South Carolina." With overflowing buckets of fresh seafood, great BBQ, daily specials and a rockin' happy hour, it's a good old elbows-on-the-table family feast. Join their Local Loyalty program for all kinds of rewards. Three Crab Shacks locations: Folly Beach, West Ashley and Coosaw Creek. Served by locals, eaten by locals.
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Every time here is amazing. The staff is wonderful and the crab legs are even better. Aaron behind the bar was awesome and so was the extras they sent out. Thank you guys, we'll be back!

1  Thank Ned H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at The Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Thank you so much! I agree. Aaron is awesome! It was great meeting ya'll, and thank you also for taking the time to give us a shout out on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again soon on your next trip to paradise. Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 559 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

We went here twice the week we stayed it was so good! The first time I had the most perfect sweet tea and key lime pie with soft shell crab sandwich. The second time the sweet tea wasn't as good but our waiter Andrew was quick to sweeten it back to perfection and we had oysters, crab legs, shrimp as well as another amazing dessert!

2  Thank Quest102412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at The Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2016

Thank you for all your kind words. I will share your review with both Andrew as well as all my team members. I am blessed with an amazing staff that shares my passion and culture. I will look into our sweet tea as it should always be perfect. Maybe one of our northern team members made the tea that day...just kidding, I couldn't help myself. thanks again and we hope to serve you again soon! Ron & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Wow! We sat in the awesome outdoor area and enjoyed live music, beach breezes and a terrific meal. Great seafood all around! We had two families at a large table and no two dinners alike. Our table ordered mussels, crab legs, fried flounder, grilled shrimp, crab-stuffed flounder, fried shrimp, crab cakes and all the awesome sides to go with them. Service was efficient and attentive as well. An excellent option in Folly Beach.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GandM_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at The Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Thank you! We are a laid back Island restaurant that just happens to have an amazing staff that helps my dream come true everyday! I am blessed with a staff that shares my passion to always make our guests feel like family & friends. Please introduce yourself the next time you are visiting. I would love to meet you in person. Ron Hill, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Laid back seafood restaurant with indoor/outdoor dining. Menu provides enough variety for diners. The food was so delicious that we chose to eat there on more than one occasion. Friendly and attentive staff.

1  Thank 10discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at The Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Thank you! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit so much! I will also pass along your kind words to my Amazing Chef, George and his incredible team! We hope to see you again soon! Ron & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016

We picked this restaurant because it was just walking distance from our hotel and because we were specifically looking for seafood. The decor was beachy and inviting. Live music added to the atmosphere. Our waitress...Chandler...was spirited, friendly and attentive.(She learned that at Clem"p"son). We chowed down on oysters, crab legs & shrimp...yummy. The tables had a bucket sunk in the middle so that you had some place to continually dispose of your shells, tails & such...very user friendly. The food was great and so was the service. Key Lime Pie dessert rocked and the warm brownie served with ice cream was enough to feed 2 or 3 people. I would definitely eat here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCH076, Owner at The Folly Beach Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Thank you so much! Chandler is awesome! I will share your review with not only Chandler, but all my team members as well! Please tell all your friends as well, we are trying to become "World Famous". We hope to serve you again on your next trip to paradise! Ron Hill, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Folly Beach Crab Shack also viewed

Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Folly Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Folly Beach Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing