We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
161
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyork streetbed and breakfastfront porcheggs benedict for breakfastprivate bathroomstate parkrooms are greatcommon areassouthern plantationfirst morningrock hilla wonderful stayhemingway roomnoel cowardcharlottescwhistles
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I had a truly relaxing and enjoyable two night stay at The Inn on York Street in Chester, SC.
The owners, Mark and Sandy, were so welcoming. They have done a fantastic job of turning this turn of the century (1900) house into a delightful inn. The entire house is filled with character. Tall ceilings, wood floors and paneling.
The sitting rooms downstairs include a music area, a separate library and dining room.
We spent the late afternoon relaxing here with a glass of wine.
The rooms are well appointed. The beds are great and super comfortable.
Unfortunately we were not able to use the pool as the weather turned a bit chilly.
I recommend this Inn for anyone looking for a place to simply unwind and chill out.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hemingway room. There are only 4 rooms and they all looked great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We spent two night at The Inn on York Street in March, and we absolutely loved everything about it! The food was delicious, the room was beautiful and oh so comfortable, and the innkeepers were wonderful hosts! We spent hours just visiting with Mark and Sandie...we felt we had known them forever! The highlight of the town for us was Hall's Lumber, an antique store packed with so much interesting stuff, and the people at Gene's Restaurant gave us extra special treatment by making two of their chicken pot pies for us to take back to the inn. Sandie was gracious to let us cook them there, and we shared them with our hosts as we visited...such fun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyandGreg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

THE best Bed and Breakfast we have EVER stayed at was in Chester, SC. The host and hostess were absolutely wonderful. They were from the UK and went out of their way to show us a great time. Their home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms were wonderful. Our bed/bath were comfortable and I loved the shower especially. I could walk out in the morning and have coffee through the french doors onto the upstairs deck. Literally sit outside with the boughs of the trees swaying right in front of me while I lounged, read a good book and drank amazing coffee. (They have an amazing expresso/coffee maker and know how to make a great strong cup).
The breakfast were to die for. They don't just buy muffins from Costco and serve yoghurt. Poached pears, fresh muffins from the oven, followed by such items as eggs Benedict, assorted meats, etc.
While we were there, they also served dinner one night and each course was paired with the perfect wine. How wonderful to listen to a British accent explain the course, the wine, and with a joke or two thrown in.
As I said, the house and the decorating was beautiful and I wanted to just live there permanently! Besides the beautiful house and rooms, there is also an in ground swimming pool for those who like to lounge and swim in the summer months.
Because we are history buffs, we found plenty to do/see. Parts of the movie "The Patriot" were filmed close by and a Revolutionary battle called "Huck's Retreat" is close by with the old homes and buildings preserved. In town, there is a placque noting that Mary Chestnutt (a famous southern woman who wrote a diary during the civil war as she fled from one southern town to the next) stayed in Chester for a short time. Since I have read her diary and heard it quoted during Ken Burn's The Civil War series, that was really kind of cool. I also noted that there is a rock with a placque indicating that Aaron Burr also made a speech there as he was being returned back for his treason trial. If you like history and Southern Charm, then Chester IS a quaint little town. If you adore golf, then you can find that not far as well.
If your goal is to relax and enjoy southern hospitality "British Style", then this is THE place to judge all B&B's. If I EVER am even close to this area again, I would stop and stay in a heartbeat! Trip Adviser only has to April 2012 and I think it was summer July 2011 when we stayed there but any time, any year, any person would love the place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historylover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

While we loved our visit and great breakfasts, the town offered little in the way of dining or shopping. Like so many towns the main streets are barren, just empty store fronts. Guess golf is a draw here.
P.S. Do ask for new pillows for your bed.

Room Tip: Two rooms in front the best.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shysure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berrysales, Owner at An Inn on York Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2013

Each room has a choice of feather or synthetic pillows, we couldn't trace which type the problem was with so naturally we have renewed all pillows and apologise. We are very proud of our Inn and always will uphold the highest of standards as we enjoy receiving excellent reviews here on tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Wonderful stay in an immaculate inn and served gourmet food by gracious folks from the UK. Inn is located in a small town that is near Rock Hill, SC. Great place to spend a few days relaxing or playing golf.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews