We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 40 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was my first visit to Charleston as well as my first time staying at an Inn. Wow, what a charmer! A much different look and feel from the hotels where I normally stay but it lured me in and won me over. Though my room wasn't large it was clean and had everything I needed including ample storage. A double standard with a bed so high there were steps to climb up, loved that! Two very comfortable wing back chairs and a desk. Great room to come back to and relax after a long day.

What impressed me most was the value for the money. Price included breakfast as well as a wine and cheese reception every night. Very generous and the food was great. Also, the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. It was a pleasure coming and going, as we always were greeted with smiles and friendly conversation. Really look forward to returning to Charleston and the Meeting Street Inn one day. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Some rooms have small balconies with seating areas--I will opt for one of those next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasAMC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    222
    78
    36
    13
See reviews for
121
378
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

The best things about the Meeting Street Inn for a girl's getaway are: Location, Garden seating, afternoon wine and cheese, and the value. Two women shared the double room with plenty of room, the breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese kept us only needing to buy lunch and an evening snack. We were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to see from our hotel. The time we spent catching up with friends in the garden in the afternoons wasgreat.
The not so great things--the stairs are dark--one of my friends fell and sprained her ankle. The front desk is not helpfull with places, to see, addresses,of sites you have heard about , or connections for trips to the airport. Be sure and do your own homework before you come.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabath67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed only for 1 night. Lots of Authentic Charleston ambiance. This is a very old building that has been renovated many times throughout the years. Our room was tastefully decorated in reproduction period pieces and plenty spacious. It did seem dark with only 1 small window but there were plenty of lamps. Really, there's too much to do and see in Charleston to spend much time in your room. Several areas of the wallpaper seemed to be suffering some kind of water damage but not enough to be really shabby. Bathroom had updated lighting, granite counter tops, hair dryer and was spotless. The 4 poster rice bed seemed firm to my liking but hubby slept like a baby. Wall heater was loud but it was white noise and not distracting, and we were plenty comfy in 32˚ January temps.
Exterior court yard was lovely and lush. Courtyard jacuzzi was operable and several guests enjoyed it though we did not partake. Lovely period Lobby decor similar to typical small european hotels. We enjoyed the wine and cheese reception from 5:30-6:30. The breakfast which is served buffet style in the lobby was more than continental style. There were heated serving dishes that still had sausages and eggs when we passed thru upon our check out shortly after 10 am. Cereal, fruit, yogurt and pastries were also part of it.
Staff was friendly and helpful. Our TV remote did not work and the front desk took care of it and returned it to our room during the turndown service.
Location can't be beat, only 1/2 block from the Market. Would definitely stay here again.
This hotel is noted to have paranormal activity in 4 rooms, none of which were ours and we were not bothered in the least

Room Tip: Rooms have front doors onto veranda that faces courtyard and back doors to a small balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TropiGal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

The Meeting Street Inn is one of Charleston’s Historic Buildings, beautifully decorated with a grand garden. Don’t expect the pristine atmosphere of a Marriott, it is an old building from 1874. The morning breakfast is more continental then full breakfast. The evening wine and cheese is a very nice touch. The staff could not be more accommodating with restaurant and tour reservations, thanks Renee and Darren, a must in this city. Without question we will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kptkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holicong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We love The Meeting Street Inn. We have stayed there many times over the last 10 years and never are disappointed with the inn, service , continental breakfast and evening wine and cheese. We highly recommend it to our friends and family .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laspsu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,681 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Indigo Inn
#16 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting Street Inn

Property: The Meeting Street Inn
Address: 173 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-3127
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price range (per night): $238 - $448
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meeting Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Inn in the center of historic Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Meeting Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing