We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“oh the love of Pork!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Paul'z - CLOSED

J Paul'z
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: James Island
Cross street: Folly Rd
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“oh the love of Pork!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

For one to truly grasp the full talent of this Chef they must have a couple of things. The Pork Belly, mac & cheese, and the Tuna Tartare. It is phenomenal. We will be back as regulars and I mean it. Great fun with Rob the owner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodsnobguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    9
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The sushi was very good. The menu had a variety of items so everyone could get something they wanted. The ambience was quiet and cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beachlover017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Outstanding Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We ate here this weekend and it was great. The wine was good and reasonably priced. We shared a sushi roll to start and it was excellent - would definitely go back for the sushi. I had the salad with duck - it was good, but a minimal amount of duck. There were only a few salads on the menu and this was teh only one with meat which is why I chose it. My husband had the pork shank and thought it was incredible! He cold not stop talking about it. A great date night out!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedCharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“A Charleston Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We love everything about this place. Decor is cool and there are little gems on the menu that you want to have again and again! The most simple foods on the Tapas Menu are like non-other. You need to taste the Truffle Mac&Cheese...to die for!! And, as far as being a family atmosphere....We have been there several times on vacation and the staff know me and my kids when we walk in. Visiting or a vacation would not be complete without our stop in at J Paulz!!!! Awesome!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“YUMMY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

The baked chicken was the best I've ever had. Wish I could have tried everything on the menu. Cam't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindymasopust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J Paul'z also viewed

Daniel Island, Charleston
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing