We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More than what we expected”
other travellers have booked this property
Private pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private pond
Pond Front of the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Private pond
Pond
Front of the house
Living room open concept
Dining area
Kitchen
Downstairs bedroom
Queen sleeper
Guest upstairs bedroom
Clawfoot tub
Half bath
Jetted tub
Stairs
Laundry room
Back porch
MALLARD DUCKS IN THE POND
EGRETS ARE ABUNDANT AROUND HERE
PECAN HARVEST IN THE WINTER
PLUM PICKING DURING THE SUMMER
PEAR PICKING IN THE LATE SUMMER
EGRETS SEARCHING FOR FOOD
STANDING DEER IN THE FIELD
RELAXING HERON STANDING ON THE POND
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Charleston, South Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
paulaklut...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than what we expected”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful house in a wonderful surroundings. It is a hidden gem. We absolutely had a great time here. I love the porch and the view. Also, many birds, deers, turtles...around. Just beautiful, private, We will definitely stay here again when we visit Charleston next time.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agiococho...
Jackson, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Relaxing”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

On first arrival, the location might seem uninspiring -- a house in the middle of a field at the end of a dirt road -- but it's truly a special place. Peaceful, no close neighbors, no traffic, a constant sea breeze that keeps it cool even when it's stinkin' hot out and a birdwatcher's paradise. During our two days at the house, we saw egrets, hawks, cranes, herons, terns, pelicans and many others all visiting the small pond on the property and enjoyed the nightly frog serenade. Charleston is a pleasant 25 minute drive away, several beaches nearby, and lots more to explore in the area, but you may have trouble not just relaxing on the wrap around porch.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniela32...
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not as described, overpriced for what you get. Disappointed.”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
3
people found this review helpful

To say we were disappointed with the house would be a bit of an understatement. We really just feel that the listing and pictures were very misleading and don’t feel it was worth the price.

Here are some things we noticed:

- Windows are so drafty sitting on the couch is cold and uncomfortable.
- the bedrooms are so cold at night because all the freezing air comes in - we had to go and buy more blankets and sleep in sweatshirts.
- there is black mold on the ceiling in the master bath
- The outside of the house is dirty and run down looking, and 100s of mud dobber nests on the ceilings and decking.
- Advertised as sleeps 8, but the pull out bed is in the master so no one can sleep on that unless it’s your kid (not specific in listing)
- found a used band aid and holes in the upstairs queen room bedroom sheets.
- Opened one kitchen cabinet to find piles of glass shards, like a tempered glass had broken- which fell all over the ground and cut my husbands foot
- the living room couches are old, sunken in, and uncomfortable
- the downstairs bathroom has a shower head that is zip tied so if you run the water at full flow the whole floor gets wet - because you can’t adjust it.
- the second bedroom upstairs has no shower so the guests in that room have to either use the master or shower downstairs
- no trees have any things to pick, the outside is just walking around a yard nothing to explore as advertised
- no river view as advertised on trip advisor

A few positive things:
- nicely stocked kitchen and linens
- updated, nice appliances
- comfortable beds
- clean interior

While we certainly wouldn’t expect perfection, we just felt the trip advisor listing grossly misrepresents what you’re really renting and it was not at all worth the price.

May I also suggest that in the email you send with information about the house prior to arriving that you list the closest grocery stores, items provided (we ran out of toilet paper and paper towels), and some restaurants that are close by. That information would’ve been super helpful to us prior to our arrival.

I tried to reach out to the owner about these issues and he did not respond.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue M
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful place, we did not want to leave”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Family reunion every year and we chose Charleston this year. There is a lot of space for 8 of us (including 2 kids). The view is so nice. Kitchen is well equipped. The road is dirt road but once you arrive, it is worth it. There are many outdoor chairs to hang out on the porch. We saw eagles, deer, ducks... and our kids enjoyed the show. We did not want to leave at all. This is definitely a place for FAMILY GATHERING!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twyning20...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"wonderful, peaceful, magic stay"”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay was very relaxing. The accommodation is outstanding. Location is secluded without presenting any logistical issues. Scenery as nice and the pond with Ibis, frogs, and, yes, Egrets was a constant source of wonder.
Great for family and/or friends any time of the year.
We do hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing