We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the hub-bub of daily life!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middleton Place
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Don't arrive with any pre-conceived ideas and you will be surprised - though if you don't like modern architecture then perhaps this is not the place for you !. We loved our room and it was large with a huge bathroom. The beds were comfy and everything was spotless. We arrived early and were told our room was ready so this meant we could have an afternoon enjoying the plantation before dinner in the restaurant. Breakfast was served in another building with a pretty lake view, granola,cereal,fruit, cake,muffins,juice were served as part of B&B package and a cooked breakfast was available for an extra charge. We enjoyed another ramble before we checked out. Outdoor pool a bit chilly in April but we had a go !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,230 - 1,234 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

My friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of March and what a fantastic stay we had.

The Inn itself is extremely striking and somehow works beautifully in the setting that it is in. There are lots of things for guests to do including a morning kayaking which was the highlight of our overall trip with a fantastic guide, Luke. There are hammocks and seats throughout the site that allow you to sit in and relax in and simply enjoy the beauty of the place.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the grounds were stunning. We felt like we had arrived in another world. The accommodation was built in the 80's so it is a little tired but this didn't detract from our stay. Ever afternoon there are canapes and drinks served, gratis, and breakfast is included in the overall price. A further benefit of staying at the Inn was the free access it gave you to the Middleton Plantation ( reviewed separately) which was amazing.

Charleston was about 30 mins away but we loved the Middleton Inn so much you had to drag us away to enjoy it.

If you are looking for a special spot to relax in for a weekend this is it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripMember012320171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Inn and Middleton Place is one of the most beautiful hotels I have stayed in the Charleston area, which I visit a couple times a year. The Inn is located on the property of Middleton Place, a very historic plantation and gardens about 20 minutes from Downtown Charleston on the Ashley River adjacent to Magnolia and Drayton Hall, the other two Ashley River plantations that are open to the public and well worth visiting.

The Inn is about 20 years old and was considered very modern for its time. It is situated in the woods on a bank above the river within a 5 minute walk of the gardens and historic buildings but out of sight of both. The rooms are of very clean design with noble materials used on all surfaces you experience. Floor to ceiling glass is in every room with louvered shutters to control light and privacy. Some rooms look out onto lawns and the river. . .others into the woods. All are very pleasant comfortable spaces and come with afternoon snacks, a generous breakfast in a central dining room above a small creek, and free access to the historic estate and gardens.

There are fairly extensive walking trails around the grounds which turned out to be a big benefit since I was staying with my dog at this pet friendly establishment.

Some people will not want to drive into Charleston from this location but it really isn't a bad drive and the combination of quiet rural plantation surroundings and the historic urban experience of Old Charleston is perfect from my perspective.

Room Tip: I loved the rooms that face the river and I actually preferred the ground floor since it was quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyrprshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Secluded, surrounded by water, woods, and gardens. You can spend hours exploring the grounds and finding out the history of this plantation. There were two weddings going on during our stay. It would be tough picking which spot to choose for the wedding. There are canoes and kayaks available to use. Breakfast and a manager's reception in the evening. There is a restaurant on the grounds. Sprout bath and body products are provided. The rooms have the feel of a cabin with an actual wood burning fireplace. Lots of windows(!) with wooden shutters. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pack and plays are provided if you contact them at the time of the reservation. New bedding is recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that you can see the water from. I believe there is one room at the end that has a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsTravelinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Had a fabulous stay at the Middleton inn! Everything was excellent, especially the trail ride through some of the spectacular expansive grounds. Well maintained gardens were such a pleasure to explore the local wildlife and woodlands. The only criticism that we had was our room as I would love. To see them update the bathroom and floors. (new mattresss and bedding needed as well) but this we definitely could overlook as the rest of our stay was just great! Definitely recommend going for either day visit and tour (loved the walking tour and guided house tour) and carriage tour of grounds. Would make a wonderful venue for wedding! We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9glenrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,836 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middleton Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middleton Place

Address: 4290 Ashley River Rd, Charleston, SC 29414-7200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $216 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Middleton Place 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Middleton Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middleton Place Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing