We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 22/07
USD 297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
USD 225
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
USD 206
USD 194
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 21/07
USD 286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 365/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
USD 241
USD 217
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
USD 125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 199
USD 172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ansonborough Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
217
150
51
53
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
150
51
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscannon streetspring streetdorm roomshared kitchenking streethominy grillother guestsceiling fanoff street parkingdowntown charlestonbars and restaurantscommon areasfree trolleyfew blocksannexvikkibunk
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

This hostel is fine for location and cleanliness, but extremely inhospitable. Also, there are very few common areas, making it very unsociable and isolated. Yet, if you're lucky, the few people you DO meet here might complain to management about how loudly you cough at night and they will have you kicked out no questions asked. Kicked out with no place else to go, without any prior warning or any discussion, because someone didn't expect there to be any noises in a communal dorm room. Yeah, worst hostel I have EVER stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avery D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your review Avery. I understand you are upset we asked you to leave. We were told that you were vomiting throughout the night by three other guests in your room and so we offered you a refund. We have several common areas (4 kitchens, 4 porches, the lobby, the garden, the outdoor patio) for our guests to socialize. Your review is actually a testament to the fact that we care very much about our guests comfort and safety.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

The notsohostel is a very great place to stay. It was really close to king street and it's very much on the quiet side. The staff was very friendly and showed me the southern hospitality I was looking for. I only wish I could stay another night.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Terrelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I spent a few nights in one of the all female dorms and enjoyed my stay. The hostel was within walking distance to the historic center which was very helpful as I did not have a car. The room was small, but nicely decorated and clean. We had a small kitchen to use for our room and two other rooms as well access to the larger kitchen in the main house where breakfast supplies were left out for guests. We only had one bathroom on our floor which sometimes meant a bit of a wait in the morning but this wasn't too much of a problem. The staff and the other guests who i met were all very friendly. Compared to hostels that i have stayed in in Europe, this one is less social and more expensive but it was still good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank luluazul24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for your review! So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The staff and atmosphere is absolutely lovely! It felt like I was staying in an old charleston home and yet not missing out on any of the modern updates you need today like wifi and quality bathrooms. It's so much different than other hostels I've stayed in where it feels more sterile and less friendly. Made so many great friends!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 92haleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed the staff and the atmosphere and would love to host you again on your next trip to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

I really enjoyed my time at NotSo Hostel! The houses are beautiful upkept pre-war homes turned hostel, kitchens stocked with everything you need to cook, and a great social environment. The staff were helpful and made recommendations for what to do in the area. Overall loved the hostel and will definitely return in the future!

Room Tip: I personally loved the dorms in the back house, Cyprus in particular!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hillary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notsohostel, Manager at Charleston's NotSo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your review, so happy to have hosted you and hope you'll come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews