We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke and no sleep” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Church Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Smoke and no sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

A hot water heater had burst and several rooms were flooded. They were running several noisy blowers to dry out the rooms and hallway.They moved the timeshare operation to the courtyard and the early morning conversations were noisy. We stayed in a one bedroom suite facing the courtyard. The bed was smaller than a queensize with king size coverings which kept sliding off during the night. After three sleepless nights we were ready to check out but we had traded our timeshare and were staying for a week. First night we cooked in the upstairs kitchen the entire upstairs filled with smoke, as the oven vents did nothing to filter the cooking. The windows can't be opened to let out the smoke. The upstairs smelled like hamburger for several days! The location was very convenient. The concierge and front desk staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    82
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
77
152
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We found this hotel on Bookit.com and feel that we definitely lucked out. The room was gorgeous and very clean. We were impressed with all the amenities that came with the room and the full kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful and couldn't have asked for a better location. We were walking distance to everything and never needed to use our car to go anywhere. We liked being able to walk around and enjoy the food and specialty drinks at surrounding bars and restaurants without having to worry about driving. We will definitely be back and will always plan to stay here everytime we visit Charelston. Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greeknurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is my favorite place to stay in Charleston! It is right in the heart of downtown, steps away from the open air market and plenty of fine restaurants and bars. It is a short walk to the waterfront park and other local attractions.

The room was very unique and decorated in true Charleston charm. The room we stayed in had 2 levels. The bottom floor had a complete kitchen, bathroom, couch, and TV. The loft (top floor) had a beautiful high King bed, closet and another bathroom.

The staff was very nice. The view from our room overlooked a courtyard. I really enjoyed it! I'm from this area and have stayed in many hotels in downtown Charleston, this is on the top of my list!

Room Tip: We called the hotel directly and they offered a great price of $199/ night (which is great consideri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FreeSpiritAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The site could not be more perfect. It's located right next to the market downtown with lots of restaurants and shops close by. Car parking typically requires valet parking due to congested streets. This is a time share property that also rents rooms like a regular hotel. I've stayed there twice and will always make it my first preference in Charleston. The staff are very friendly and knowledgable and the rooms are all suites on the second floor with third floor bedrooms. Rooms on the street side also have balconies. The only negative is that there is no food or even snacks or drinks available so you have to go about a block to a convenience store to buy those and keep them in the full kitchen refrigerator.

Room Tip: If you enjoy people watching ask for a room on the street side with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryKMonroe_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

You can't beat the location and the space in the unit! Plus 2 bathrooms. Walking distance from all the best Charleston has to offer. Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Drawbacks were: our room had just been painted and the smell was pretty overpowering. The beds were rather hard and the pillows some of the worst I've ever slept on! Don't forget if you have a car there is no on site parking.

Room Tip: Market Street side is a bit noisier but have outside balcony's which inner courtyard rooms do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Indigo Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn

Property: Church Street Inn
Address: 177 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Charleston
Price range (per night): $247 - $636
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Church Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing