We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Meeting Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 39 Charleston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

The best B&B I've been too in a long time. First of all the house is amazing, it has tiffany stained glass windows, gorgeous carved oak woodwork in the common rooms and staircase and an unbelievable staff. The food was plentiful and tasty. In the afternoon they have tea, pastries and snacks, all delicious. The rooms were tastelfully decorated with all the modern conveniences, On our third day there, I had to rush to the hospital due to an irregular heartbeat. Luckily it was nothing and is under control. My wife received several calls from members of the staff asking if they could bring breakfast and lunch to the hospital. I was given a prescription when I left and on my return to the B&B I asked about the location of the nearest pharmacy. A member of the staff volunteered to go for me. Thank you so much for everything you did for me. When in Charleston, this is the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boinie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Two Meeting Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

FIrst time staying at Two Meeting Street and loved it! Very Charming, great location and wonderful front porch to sit on and have breakfast or a cocktail. Very close to the Battery and right in the middle of all the fabulous historic homes of Charleston. You feel like you have gone back in time here!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckySCGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We started to stay in Bed and Breakfasts about ten or twelve years ago on our travels, after staying at Two Meeting Street. My wife and I had not been back in a number of years,and were again thinking about a long weekend there this summer, hot though it will certainly be in Charleston .

Almost all of our stays have been at the more renowned places in the US and Canada. Many are those in the Select Registry.

All tolled, Two Meeting Street is our favorite. The charm of the inn and the graciousness of the Spell family are evident in all aspects of this B and B. Unlike others, there is always someone available to answer questions about Charleston, surrounding restaurants or the inn itself.

On three of our visits we brought other couples who are equally effusive in their praise of Two Meeting Street. The only place that I could compare it with in terms of charm and attention to detail would be the Inn at Little Washington.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wagesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying with you for his birthday. We have both traveled extensively and have lived in Europe too, but never have felt so welcome and relaxed as we did at "Two Meeting Street Inn!" We only wished we could have stayed longer and look forward to a return visit in your beautiful Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I want to first start off by saying that I did not "stay" at your B&B but experienced much of the same as one of your other guest commented on. My friend and I stopped by to look at the property and house. We were "not so friendly" greeted when we rang the doorbell. Kay answered the door and when I told her I just wanted to show my friend how beautiful it was inside, Kay, with her somewhat "snooty" aire, seemed annoyed. We were only stopping for a moment and did not take up much of her time. If I owned a wonderful B&B like yours, I would want only the very kindest, helpful, NICE people working for me who would encourage a potential guest to be sure to come and stay at my Inn. When we left, my friend said, "even IF I wanted to come back, I wouldn't." Kay was "uncomfortably arrogant" and acted as if we were a bother. I'm an Antique dealer and I travel alot ~ staying at B&B's along the way. I have never been as disappointed as I was when inquiring about your Inn. If I do come back to the Charleston area, I'm sorry to say that I won't be staying at your Inn.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
6  Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper2meetst, Owner at Two Meeting Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to drop by the Inn to request an impromptu tour. As you can appreciate, because of its location and architecture, the Inn attracts considerable attention. We receive many requests such as yours each day and we are always happy to oblige by sharing our entry foyer, parlor and dining room, the same areas that Kay shared with you. We regret that your personal experience with our innkeeper was less than satisfactory; however, many of our guests have had positive experiences with Kay, as expressed in recent reviews on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your comments and sincerely hope that you do return to our wonderful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,876 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
The Meeting Street Inn
#5 of 39 in Charleston
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Meeting Street Inn

Address: 2 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29401-2706
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range: $274 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1890. In the center of the historic district overlooking prestigious South Battery, this turreted Queen Anne was built as a wedding gift from a father to his daughter. It is one of the area's oldest bed & breakfast inns, offering Southern hospitality and a romantic heritage. Tiffany stained-glass windows, crystal chandeliers and English oak woodwork are accented by fresh flowers, Oriental rugs and family heirlooms. Traditional antiques furnish the elegant guest bedrooms. Enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast in the courtyard or oval dining room. The famous arched piazza features rockers that invite relaxation while gazing beyond the century-old live oaks to the harbor. Low country afternoon tea is served with sherry and regional delicacies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Meeting Street Hotel Charleston
2 Meeting Street Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing