We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Tripadvisor!”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We chose the French Quarter Inn based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we’re happy we did. My husband and I were visiting Charleston for the first time, and we wanted to be close to the activity. (We had ruled out the Wentworth Mansion because it was a little further away.) We were a short walk away to the start of our walking tour and great restaurants like Fig and Peninsula Grill.
We had a room on the second floor. Although the hotel was full, we couldn’t hear anyone in the halls or in other rooms from inside our room. Some of the other reviewers commented on the lack of views. Our room looked out over Linguard St. We could see the steeples of the St. Philip’s and the Huguenot churches. The view wasn’t spectacular, but it wasn’t horrible. The bathroom wasn’t the most modern, but it was clean and in good repair. It had a standard hotel tub/shower like you would find at a Marriott, InterContinental, Westin etc.
Service was great. The desk staff addressed us by name, and the valets brought our car without having to ask for our name or room number. We especially appreciated the nightly turndown service that included a re-cleaning of our bathroom after we had gotten ready for dinner, a weather report for the following day and chocolates.
The continental breakfast was substantial with assorted pastries, bagels, dried cereal, fruit, yogurt and juices. They even had my regular cereal I eat at home (Kashi GoLean brand). We enjoyed the wine and cheese every evening before setting out for dinner. The nighttime cookies were also delicious.
We were able to get a great rate of $189/night. We were somewhat flexible with our dates, and we found a coupon on line from the Charleston Visitors Bureau. We also used the free parking coupon from Tripadvisor.
We would definitely return the next time we are in Charleston.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grendelpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to offer a full review of your stay. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us, as we know there are many choices in Charleston. Our location is such an amazing asset to our guests and we love to hear how the convenience is something our guests’ truly enjoy, as well as the extra amenities and above excellence service we strive to provide on a daily basis. We greatly appreciate all of your compliments and we will work diligently to offer the same service for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,875)
There are newer reviews for French Quarter Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,065 - 2,069 of 2,875 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Outstanding front desk personnel. They assisted with our every desire and more. They made us feel like we were staying with family and greeted us by name everytime we walked in or out. The location is perfect. There can be no greater hotel in all of Charleston. Book it and you will be delighted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Each guest that walks through our doors is part of our family and we are truly overjoyed to have you stay with us. Our team truly enjoys welcoming everyone and ensuring your stay is all that you desire. Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded in making your stay the best. We can’t wait to welcome you home again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

How many superlatives can you fit into one English sentence? A wonderful hotel, a special ambiance, a delightful complimentary wine and cheese interlude every afternoon, scrumptious cookies and coffee on the house every evening, outstanding desk people that will help you find the best of Charleston... Do you have the idea yet? You will regret it if you miss this warm and hospitable inn.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

Your gracious compliments and delightful review has made us blush. Thank you for truly expressing your thoughts of the service and amenities you received while visiting us. It was truly our pleasure to spoil you and ensure that you enjoyed every moment within the French Quarter Inn. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We just returned from a four day stay at this hotel and was compelled to complete this review. We chose the French Quarter Inn based strictly on the recent Travelers Choice Awards, and are pleased to report that this hotel was everything that was expected and more. From the staff to the cleanliness of the hotel to the wine and cheese, it made our stay not only relaxing and comfortable, but a destination that we will soon return to. I also want to commend Brent , the General Manager, who made sure to greet us daily while constantly on top of every little detail (with a can of Brasso Polish in hand) in the hotel during our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bg5621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

You having an outstanding experience truly fill our hearts with joy. We work diligently to ensure each detail is perfect and that each guest can want for nothing. We are delighted that this was your experience and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

attending conference
great service, very helpful ,

Room Tip: try the top rooms
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam-ski70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

It was a pleasure to host your conference at the hotel and we are delighted that the experience for you was wonderful. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed attending the conference as well as staying with us. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,209 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
479 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $382 - $881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing