We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,224)
Filter reviews
2,224 results
Traveller rating
1,116
744
247
83
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
744
247
83
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center free trolley historic district john street great location king street music hall trolley stop parking garage directly across the street within walking distance free breakfast meeting street per day the breakfast area would stay here again first floor
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,224 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

I would say this hotel was fairly average. It is a little far from the real historic part of Charleston. Luckily the free transportation provided by the city of Charleston is right next to the visitor's center. Unfortunately, it does not run after 8:30 at night. We had to Uber to the restaurant of our choice. The beds were very comfortable. We were unable to close our drapes all the way and that was a bother.

Room Tip: Our first-floor room had an exterior door. That made us feel a little uneasy.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Elaine!

Thanks for taking your time to leave a kind review for our hotel!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us!
Your honest feedback is always appreciated as it helps us to identify and address issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will certainly be looking forward to seeing you guys back here with us for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

This hotel has a great location but the room had a few problems that made the saty a little less than ideal.The termostat did not work and the room was a constant 67/68 degrees.The toilet did not flush properly.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank CharlotteFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Charlotte!

Thanks for taking your time to leave a constructive review!
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and we hope to see you back here with us again in the near future so we can make things right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

We stayed here for a night while visiting the area in late September.

The address for the hotel is on Meeting Street, unfortunately you cannot access the facility from Meeting Street. You need to drive over to John Street where the entrance and lobby are located. In addition, you can only park there briefly to check in, you will then need to drive to the parking garage off John Street to unload. For parking, unless you can find something else, you will need to park in the parking garage next door. It costs hotel guest $20 per day which we thought was very reasonable for the area.

The lobby looked very warm and welcoming, kind of what we would expect for a southern sitting area. Our room had the AC set just right when we walked in which was appreciated. We're not used to the humidity and it felt really good. The room included a refrigerator but no microwave which was perfect for us to keep drinks cold. The facility also has a pool which we did not use but likely would have if we were there longer.

We were happy with the overall location and it was nice to keep the car parked and explore the area.

One thing we noticed was one of the 12 by 12 tiles in the bathroom was loose and could use some repair or flooring replacement.

Overall it was a great experience in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank magnoliaeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi!

Thanks for taking your time to leave such a kind and constructive review for our hotel!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us for your meeting especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us such as Henry and Curtis whom we take a lot of pride in as well as our convenient location - we truly are located in the heart of Charleston historic district which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Your honest feedback is always appreciated as it helps us to identify and address issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will certainly be looking forward to seeing you guys back here with us for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

small rooms (basic) I think there is an upgrade but we were not going to be in but only to sleep so it wasn't as big an issue. There is a charge to park in the garage next door (20.00) which is irritating but to be within the city of Charleston we figured was OK. Breakfast standard Hampton employees very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpart2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Sarah!

Thanks for taking your time to leave such a kind review for our hotel!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us for your meeting especially our phenomenal staff we have here with us whom we take a lot of pride in as well as our convenient location - we truly are located in the heart of Charleston historic district which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will certainly be looking forward to seeing you guys back here with us for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Came here and booked that place through booking com. The hotel is perfectly situated for a short visit to Charleston. When we arrived we were given a very nice and spacious room. The interior perfectly matches well to the whole idea and style of this hotel. Unfortunately, they have two problems: 1) it smells mouldy 2) in some rooms hornets have their nest at the window!
I complained about the smell because it was unbearable and you could see the black stains at the ceiling. We were given several other rooms but they were all having either one or even both problems. Finally we stayed in one room which did not have that awful and unhealthy smell but two of those insect’s nest at the window. That was my compromise because the receptionist didn’t know what to do. I told him that the problem needs to be solved the next morning and it was not. After inspecting another room which was just the same I told them that i am sick and tiered of exploring this hotel instead of this beautiful city! They then offered a good solution and for the first time I heard a sorry! Thanks again to these two ladies who helped to save our stay!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank matthiassH9469TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Matthias!

Thanks for taking your time to leave a thorough and constructive review!
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and we hope to see you back here with us again in the near future so we can make things right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews