We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and less expensive in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant and less expensive in Charleston”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We planned out trip to Charleston, SC, pretty late and most of the hotels in down town were either sold out or beyond our means. The city center is really the peninsula of Charleston. It is a beautiful place indeed and well worth a visit. By beyond our means I mean over $150 a night. We chose the Hampton Inn because we had some positive past experience. This particular hotel is about 6 miles from downtown. You may know that because of its location access to 'downtown' and the historic area is over various bridges -which in my opinion lends to the attraction of the whole are. Our hotel was very clean, tidy and neat and with nice decor -the hot breakfast which was included in the price was top class, the breakfast area being an attractively furnished high ceiling affair, the staff was helpful and courteous.
We drove into down town and got parking at the Visitors' Center for $10 a day. We strolled the city from there.
Next time we will plan in time and hopefully make a reservation with Hampton Inn's other area hotel, smack in the middle of historic downtown.

Room Tip: our king room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Irela_Aura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    223
    79
    52
    32
See reviews for
302
291
46
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My family stayed 3 days in late October 2011 for my daughter to be seen at MUSC.
It was very nice because it was super clean and all employees had a warm smile and a friendly
greeting at each passsing. We had to return to Charleston SC on November 6, so Hampton West Ashley was my choice. This stay was for 6 days and was just as wonderful, really better than our first stay. It was so convenient to MUSC and Folly Beach. This is truly a taste of why you go to Charleston. The friendly employees let you know that you are in the South with warmth and caring. I just made my reservations to be there 2 days starting in nine days. It is truly a nice Hampton Inn. The location makes you close to so many of the great places in Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We had a pleasant stay because of Gernette. We walked in and Gernette was there with her smile . You have a question about anything, directions she has them. We enjoyed the managers reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank softballfan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Breakfast spread was excellent. Krispy Kreme doughnuts wrer a treat.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are quieter and are more shaded.The c
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Although the area aound the hotel is undergoing construction, the lobby oozes southern charm. Basic managers appetizer reception with beer and wine was nice after a day of driving.Breakfast was nice but no cut fresh fruit.


The room was typical slightly dated Hampton, but I did notice a slight unpleasant (pet?)odor on entering. Maid sprayed air fresh and I carry a mini Lysol.

Overall, a good place to stay in a decent location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank takemeaway1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.6 km away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
14.1 km away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
243 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,178 reviews
6.8 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $175 - $302
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing