We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Southern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice Southern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was traveling with my children, ages 8 and 10. Room was very nice. We slept comfortably. I would go back. Would have liked complimentary breakfast and not having to pay so much for valet parking, but it was a nice hotel. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,632
    1,013
    339
    148
    59
See reviews for
764
1,324
85
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel has a lot of things going for it, and few just so-so things. First off, the location is absolutely ideal. You're in the center of all the action and can easily walk to everything. Although Charleston is fairly small, as cities go, I would rent a bike one day and just tour around.. The hotel is very charming with a very helpful staff. Very nice lobby, bar and the best outdoor dining location in town. Rooms are very nice but the beds need to be a little firmer. Also, I was disappointed in the quality of the sheets. Felt a little rough. We had room 713 which is a very large comfortable suite with nice views. Only complaint about the location was the trash truck going up the side street (Queen St.) at 7am one morning. They have valet parking with unlimited in and out, but like I said, it's a fairly small town and you really don't need a car unless you want to explore the surrounding areas. Speaking of which, Folly Beach is a local favorite. Nice big flat beach. Take the Calhoun Mansion tour and walk around town with your camera. Lot's of very picturesque things to shoot.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtownfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Location is excellent. Room was too small for two beds. A king or even a queen would have been better than two doubles since it was just my wife and I. Could have used a small refrigerator to keep some water and soda cold. Parking was expensive.

Room Tip: I don't know how to choose a good room, we didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getthere1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Mills House Hotel is located right in downtown Charleston, SC. You can park your car and walk everywhere. The hotel is old and atmospheric. We stayed on the exclusive top floor, accessible only with your special elevator card key. There is a very nice bar on the ground floor with an outdoor area in which to enjoy your complimentary wine. The only drawback was the loud A/C unit on the roof right above our room. But we would definitely stay at the Mills House again.

Room Tip: If you are on the top floor, ask to be in a room that is not directly under the noisy roof A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSUsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is our second stay at this "Holiday Inn", which has to be a flagship property for the franchise. Easy check in and out (the guys out front really made this easy), beautifully appointed rooms, and a stunning bar/lounge that is a must for a drink before you leave. You can walk to just about everything.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CvilleMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $352 - $690
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Wotif.com so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing