We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people have started booking this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
Booking.comUSD 487
Hotels.comUSD 487
PricelineUSD 487
TraveluroUSD 488
eDreamsUSD 487
CheapTicketsUSD 487
View all 23 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,202)
Filter reviews
4,202 results
Traveller rating
2,969
708
296
150
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,969
708
296
150
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club level palmetto cafe thoroughbred club beautiful hotel retractable roof room service luxury hotel southern charm rooftop pool within walking distance king street turn down service fitness center heart of downtown the location is perfect city market historic district
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 4,202 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2021

Amazing hotel.. Beautiful furniture, ambiance, cleanliness and fantastic attention to details. Great staff and cleaning team. Watching it being "dressed" for Xmas. time was an unique experience as well. As charming as Charleston!

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CaroGonzalezBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Megargle , General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear CaroGonzalezBA,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel to be beautiful and our attention to detail to be fantastic. On behalf of the entire staff, we can't wait to welcome you back to your home away from home.

Kind regards,
Bob Megargle
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2021 via mobile

This hotel has impeccable service as well as a great location. The concierge is able to obtain restaurant reservations without a hitch. The walking distance to amazing shopping and food is very accessible. The lobby is beautiful. There are high end shops and restaurants in the hotel as well as a spa.

Room tip: We always use the valet for east parking.
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ramona0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2021

Overall we enjoyed our stay at The Belmond. The rooms were well appointed and clean. Our children loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the location of the hotel can't be beat. We were there in June, so travel re-opening was just underway, so I assume that is the reason for some of the mis-steps, but nothing majorly problematic and the hotel was very accommodating when issues arose (like providing us complimentary meal/drink tickets when our room was not ready on time). They struggled with dining options - some of the restaurants were closed, leading to whatever was open to be full to capacity and they could not make room for more guests, so many guests we saw were turned away and forced to go outside the hotel for eating. I imagine once staffing is back to normal levels, this will settle out, but hotels need to be aware that booking a full hotel and then limiting dining options isn't going to go over well with most guests. Certainly recommend this hotel if you are in Charleston!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CMCD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Megargle , General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear CMCD7,

Thank you for sharing your Charleston Place experience! I'm delighted your family enjoyed your time with us, including our rooftop pool and central location. On behalf of the team, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Bob Megargle
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2021

I looked at the pool pictures on your website and they made the pool look like it had a short length so I left my goggles at home. I was told that I could buy them at drug stores and walked a couple of miles to find one and the CVS I finally found did not have any.
I had to wait to have my first cup of coffee at 6am.

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert Megargle , General Manager at Charleston Place, A Belmond Hotel, Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2021

Dear Ray,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I will pass your feedback along to our Fitness Center team so that we can improve the experience for all of our guests. If your travels bring you back to Charleston, we hope to welcome you back to Charleston Place.

Kind regards,
Bob Megargle
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021 via mobile

This was our first trip away with our 8 month old and our stay at the Belmond made it even more memorable. We stayed on club level which was great as food and drink was served all day. The food was different each day. The staff were friendly and rooms were comfortable and clean. We also ate at the palmetto cafe which was excellent. Can’t wait to stay again!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Crabcakeahoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews