We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Convenient Alternative to the Historic District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My family & I stayed at this hotel while on a weekend trip to Charleston for a wedding. We chose it for its affordable rate and convenience to the wedding venues. Our two bedroom/two bathroom suite was smaller than most other Residence Inn properties where I have stayed. But, for one night, it suited our purposes.

The suite featured two bedrooms separated by a small common area and kitchen. Each bedroom had its own full bathroom. Though we did not use it, the kitchen was stocked with cookware and was suited for preparing full meals. Though somewhat hidden off of the highway, the hotel was only a short drive from the Historic District. Breakfast is served in a room adjacent to the lobby. Though I went to breakfast early, the room filled quickly. However, people did not appear to linger for long periods of time, allowing other guests to take advantage of the meal.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. If returning to Charleston in the future, I certainly would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

480 - 484 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

I was a bit hesitant after reading a few bad reviews but I am glad I booked it. Upon check in we were greeted by a more than helpful and friendly young lady giving us recommendations of local restaurants. The room was clean and freshly painted. The location was convenient to the historical district (about a mile away). We elected to drive since we had to cross a bridge without a pedestrian walkway. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTLYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I love the fact that they have a nightly shuttle to downtown Charleston! Great staff and very friendly! Food is average to better than average.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have stayed here many times. It's in a great location, close to downtown Charleston and all the other islands, etc. are nearby. The hotel is clean, it has a breakfast and happy hour included. We would recommend and will plan on staying here again. Also, the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies, others have gas fireplaces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaMerBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed 2 nites over New Years and the staff was very friendly and super helpful...The hotel was being cleaned from head to toe the whole time we were there. The heated outdoor pool and hot tub are year round and made for a great New Years day! The free shuttle is also a plus! I would stay here again if in the area. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Ground floor is bery conveniant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theworld2see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
1.1 km away
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charleston Historic District
1.3 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,161 reviews
0.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 90 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Business Hotel in Charleston
#33 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $166 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is just 1.5 miles from the Historic District and is close to The Citadel, College of Charleston, Roper Hospital and MUSC. Your next business meeting will be a success in our Ashley Meeting Room, perfect for board meetings. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this downtown Charleston hotel will prove to be your home away from home. From breathtaking views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and plantations, guests will fall in love with all this Southern City has to offer. Charleston will leave you in awe with its unique culture, low-country dining, arts and recreation. With fantastic amenities, the Residence Inn by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview is the ideal choice whether traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Charleston Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing