We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Restoration

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Restoration
Ranked #10 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The staff introduced themselves, offered to grocery shop for us, gave us complementary bicycles to ride around the city, inspected the room multiple times for cleanliness, refreshed beverages during our stay, had a wine reception, cookies at night , breakfast delivered in a basket to your room, and the manager personally made sure we were satisfied! The room was large, comfortable, and amazing. The location is perfect... close to great restaurants, historic sites, and fun places. We loved our stay in Charleston!!

Room Tip: Call the staff before you go and they will help you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dms017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    79
    20
    10
    2
See reviews for
186
458
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had been scoping out this place since last summer and was happy to get a Jetsetter deal during February, which is low season. The normal 1BR suite goes for $299/night and I got it for more than 1/3 off, plus we had a coupon for free parking from Trip Advisor. We stayed at the Vendue Inn for three nights and it was a nice stay, but decided to splurge for one night. Restoration on King was on a different level! We definitely felt pampered from the moment we arrived. Restoration on King was intended to be high-end condos but they turned it into a fantastic, upscale boutique hotel (only 15 rooms). Check-in was easy....and our room was ready before the normal check-in time! Darren gave us a quick tour. The suite was really nice--exposed brick, flat screen TVs, 1 1/2 bathrooms, multiple iPod docks, and free wifi. We relaxed a little before picking up our complimentary gym passes. There were nice lots of nice touches...from the toiletries to the free soda and water in our refrigerator! We came back, showered quickly, and made it downstairs to enjoy the manager's wine and cheese reception. Thanks to Virginia for her recommendations on what to do for our return trips! Restoration on King is in a great part of town...walkable to many great restaurants and around the corner from shopping! There is a full kitchen so you can cook or even bring in a chef to cook for you. Before dinner, we got turndown service, with robes and chocolates. And after sleeping on a soft mattress for three days, we drifted off to sleep on a firm, comfortable bed!

I gave this place 5 stars because of the location, the amenities, and the service but there was a minor issue. We were on the second floor and could hear people upstairs. Also, the room we were in was a loft style (the bedroom was separate but was not completely walled off because of the exposed ducts) so keep that in mind when you're making a reservation. I'd probably ask for a room on the third floor next time.

For breakfast, your order by leaving a card on the door the night before. We had croissants, danishes, yogurt, juice, muffins, and coffee delivered in a picnic basket. We took the extras for our drive home! The coffee comes from Charleston Coffee Roasters and it is delicious! I'm not a big coffee drinker and usually I have to put in extra cream and sweetener to make it drinkable, but this was smooth and I could almost drink it black! We planned to buy some on the way out of town but found out the address listed online was warehouse. :( A special thank you to Darren for coffee to go! I'm keeping my eye out for more deals because I want to return to this place!

They don't have traditional room service, but if you order something from a nearby place, they'll get it for your and deliver it to your room. If you choose to stay here, you won't be disappointed!

P.S. If you choose not to valet, there is a self park garage within a block or so. You probably won't need the car unless you're going out to visit a plantation or Patriot's Point.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ttphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We had a fabulous getaway weekend at this hotel to celebrate our 12th anniversary. The rooms were very urban/trendy with exposed brick, stainless appliances in the full kitchen, and the homey touches--almost like you own your own weekend condo. The bed was super comfy, and the kitchen/bar area was perfect for the picnic basket breakfasts they brought each morning (cheese danish was dangerously yummy but HUGE; yogurt parfaits equally as good but less naughty). We also loved the sectional couch in the living room area-- ideal for reading as both my husband and I were racing through the Hunger Games series and finally had time, without kids, to just enjoy the silence and read with a cup of coffee--ultimate relaxation!

The wine and cheese in the early evening was a thoughtful touch, as were the cookies and milk later in the evening. When we mentioned upon going out that we would be missing milk and cookies, the staff offered to take some up to the room for us for when we returned.

Staff recommended Leaf, around the corner, for lunch one day and it was just great. Also had a fabulous dinner at S.N.O.B. Staff also took the time to help us map out a run saturday a.m. and identified areas in town with concentrations of art galleries.

If this is the newest trend in B&B's, count me in. Restoration on King is hip, tasteful, helpful, and met every need my husband and I had. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scituate MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

After a little difficulty finding this hotel, the outside sign is very small, we were very pleased to be there. From the outside, the hotel doesn't look like much, but once inside, it is beautiful. The rooms are amazing, huge, well designed. The full kitchen is well stocked, stainless steel appliances, everything you could possibly need. The separate bedroom is cozy and comfortable The staff was friendly and helpful. I loved every minute we were there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesiScituateMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshall, michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I couldn't be more impressed...beautiful rooms, great staff, wonderful location and all the amenities of a luxury condo. Restoration on King simply is one of the best hotels we've stayed at in the U.S.
....I could go on and on but here's a little story about the staff...we stayed for 5 days and when we left we traveled on to Asheville, N.C. and from there to Cincinnati,Ohio....and finally home to Michigan. We we got home I realized that I left a favorite shirt at Restoration on King. I called them and within 3 days the shirt and two other articles of clothing I left appeared at my door. No charge!!! Fantastic place...loved every minute we stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tyronepowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Restoration

Property: The Restoration
Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $377 - $915
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing