We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Halls Chophouse

Halls Chophouse
Ranked #1 of 840 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: John St.
Description: Halls Chophouse is American-Fine Dining, serving prime steaks, Lowcountry and fresh seafood specialties in an energetic, visually striking environment. Complemented by signature desserts, an extensive wine list, a vibrant bar and innovative, rich decor true to old-world steakhouses, Halls Chophouse is the latest restaurant offering in the heart of Charleston's Upper King Street design and dining district. A traditional American steakhouse with superior service and a knowledgeable staff, Halls Chophouse offers a classic and comfortable dining experience that will entice our guests to visit and enjoy time after time. We offer 2 private dining rooms for groups of up to 32 guests each with audio visual capabilities.
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We've been to Halls twice during our visit and the food was outstanding. I tried bison with risotto and gras-fed steak and both were melting in my mouth. If you've never tried bison, I highly recommend it. Also, try their creamy spinach, it is amazing! Good portion sizes and romantic atmosphere.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank 975kats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (6,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,655 - 3,659 of 6,355 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Great spot that lived up to the hype. Colin was our server and was very knowledgable. The steaks, wedge salad, Mac and cheese and wine list were superb

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Family of eight ranging from 14 to 81 years old. Everyone had a great time and enjoyed the music and the food. Not too loud or too soft from our upstairs table at the front of the building in a beautiful dining room. Relaxed and well-paced service from a brunch menu that included southern twists on the traditional dishes as well as Hall's famous steaks and everything in-between. The variety made it easy to please everyone at the table. She-crab soup was killer good. The teenagers inhaled the ribs. As others have said, Billy Hall personally makes you feel welcome and accommodated.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

From the time we walked in to the time we left, we felt like VIPs. We had made a reservation and arrived a little early. We were allowed to sit at the bar, have a drink, and await our table. It was a little loud early downstairs, but we had called on a tip and asked to be seated upstairs as it was a quiet anniversary celebration. Our serving staff was stellar and professional at every turn. We were shown the cuts and types of meats--sight and description. We were guided to fantastic choices from the menu and were absolutely stuffed and happy as we left. We were even greeted by Mr. Hall and thanked for stopping by. It's not something we'll be able to do often, but definitely something I am so glad we did!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Want great food in a lively yet warm family-run environment? Want great service with a smile? Want an accompanying wine list to die for? Well...run don't walk to Halls Chophouse!! The Hall family (brothers Billy and Tommy) will greet you and literally embrace you as you enter and will make sure your dining experience will be EVERYTHING you wish for. The waitstaff is helpful and warm. There is a reason that Halls had garnered so many accolades!
Do not miss this one in Charleston!!

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank vino4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halls Chophouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Halls Chophouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.