We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not particularly memorable”
Review of Planters Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Planters Inn
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good but not particularly memorable”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Me and my girlfriend came for the weekend down to Charleston without booking a room in advance. Many places were fully booked but the Planters Inn had an open room at a cheaper price than many of the places in bad locations. The room was good, though nothing extraordinary. The staff were very helpful. The location is probably the best part of all, being directly in the historic district of Charleston.

Overall a good experience, but nothing too memorable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerestoLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear HerestoLife,
We are pleased you were able to find accommodations on such short notice without an advance booking. It is true; Planters Inn offers the best location in the city. Should your travels find you returning to Charleston, we are confident we can assist you with finding a large variety of room options that vary in size, layout and configuration that suit your needs and preferences. Keep in mind, April is the peak demand in Charleston and securing reservations in advance next time should allow for greater selection and perhaps a more memorable room assignment.
Kind Regards,
Brad Dickerson, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    218
    91
    31
    11
See reviews for
224
1,060
38
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

There are a number of excellent hotels in Charleston, so this property has some keen competition, but it stood up to the best of them. The only Relais & Chateaux property in Charleston, I believe, and that's always been a good yardstick for us. We stayed at this property for three nights, in what was possibly the largest hotel suite we have ever seen. Extremely comfortable room, well appointed, I believe it was room 314. The front desk was professional and friendly, as was the staff throughout the hotel. It's a pretty hotel, and quite bustling, given its central location. Couple of things could have been better: 1) no mini bar in the room, which would be nice in a hotel of this calibre 2) better coordination of car retrieval at the front door; car was often not ready for us, even though we always called well in advance 3) a better working elevator across the courtyard; one must insert a key to call the lift, and it did not always work just right. All easily correctible. The cafe tables outside of each room are a nice touch, but wicker chairs would be more comfortable. There is no pool, and no agreement to use one at a neighboring hotel, which is a negative in our view, but overall, this is an excellent hotel, and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
We are thrilled you were pleased with your Charleston Relais & Chateaux experience. Your positive comments are truly appreciated and your suggestions for improvement areas are valid. Thank you for your time and we look forward to assisting you on your next trip to Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill.
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at the Planter's Inn in March 2012 for three nights. It is a Relais & Chateaux property, so our expectations were high - and we weren't disappointed!

Our room was very comfortable: spacious, lovely furniture and a well-equiped luxury-level bathroom. It had to be one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.

Service at the Planter's Inn was pleasant, efficient and unobtrusive. The staff was very helpful (they suggested at wonderful salon for my wife's haircut) and very nice.

The Planter's Inn is located at North Market and Meeting Streets - right in the heart of Charleston's historic area. Shopping, restaurants and tourist destinations are (mostly) within walking distance.

I would also say that, while not inexpensive, the food (restaurant and room service) was reasonable given the quality of the hotel.

We had a wonderful stay and would definitely stay at the Planter's Inn again.

Room Tip: We were in the annex building, which (appears) newer than the original Inn. Rooms were spacious, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ACKTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
We are thrilled you enjoyed the Planters Inn & Peninsula Grill, our service, and our city. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We value your opinion and appreciate all your positive comments. We look forward to assisting you again on your next trip to Charleston.
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I found it hard to drag myself from the room to tour the area. Very comfortable bed,spacious room with comfortable chair to read in. The bathroom was lovely with shower and jacuzzi tub and spotlessly clean. Nice sitting room on the ground floor where there is coffee available or alternate sitting areas outdoors in pretty courtyard.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for the “Wonderful” review and summary of your recent experience. The piazza Deluxe King rooms over the courtyard with whirlpool tubs are one of the best locations to enjoy spring time in Charleston and are preferred by many of our repeat guests. We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Planters Inn!
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
298 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The location is excellent. Close to everything. The service is above average. The rooms are not bad, but nothing special. the restaurant Penninsula is fabulous. Rooms facing the street, especially Meeting Street get a lot of noise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridagator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Planters_Inn, Manager at Planters Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
On behalf our team at Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill, thank you for your recent comments. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again in the future to experience the vast array of guest room accommodations our charming 64 room Relais & Chateaux property have to offer. Call us directly on your next visit to Charleston to ensure we assist you with selecting a perfect location and room of your preference.
Bradley Dickerson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Inn

Property: Planters Inn
Address: 112 N Market St, Charleston, SC 29401-3157
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in Charleston
#7 Family Hotel in Charleston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $395 - $732
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Planters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holding court in the very heart of Charleston's famed Historic District, the 64-room Planters Inn Relais & Châteaux is the city's iconic grande dame hotel. Uniformed doormen welcome every arrival, ushering guests inside the gloriously restored circa 1844 building to a sanctuary of elegant style and genteel service. Voted #1 Best U.S. Boutique Hotel by readers of Travel + Leisure magazine, Planters Inn is a world of civility, sumptuous cuisine, and cultural pursuits. Soaring ten-foot ceilings, dozens of working fireplaces, and a stunning collection of antiques and Baker Historic Charleston décor, including a sumptuous four poster bed in every guest room, create a luxurious ambiance described by Travel + Leisure as "akin to an overnight with well-to-do friends in their old Charleston mansion." Hushed tones of buttercream, Lowcountry greens, and pale powder blue paint the walls, while raw silk fabrics frame the windows. There's also more to Planters Inn than meets the eye: A hidden courtyard illuminated by flickering carriage lanterns provides a beguiling entry to Peninsula Grill, the city's foremost dining experience. Planters Inn and Peninsula Grill are longstanding members of Relais & Châteaux, the exclusive collection of luxury boutique hotels and gourmet restaurants located in the world's most romantic, most cultured, and most memorable destinations. Are you excited for your getaway to Charleston? We are excited to welcome you to Planters Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Planters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planters Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing