We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous anniversary stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #14 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This was my second time to the Venue Inn, and it was even more amazing than I remembered! My first trip was in December for a business meeting. It was nice, the food was wonderful, and you can't beat the location! Walking distance to amazing restaurants and close to the water where you can walk down to Battery Park. My recent stay was in April for our anniversary. We stayed in a clean and romantic room and the hospitality was top notch! Mark was extremely helpful during our entire stay. We enjoyed the daily breakfast, but make sure you verify breakfast is included when making your reservation. We overheard others had an issue. The little "extras" the Vendue provides make you feel at home. From afternoon wine offerings, to the use of free bicycles , to milk and cookies at night. Each room of the hotel is unique and the beds are so comfortable, it's like falling into a cloud! I do have to warn you on the cost of parking. We had a rental car and the cost to park was $18 per day. The hotel offers outstanding customer service and we were given excellent restaurant recommendations! There is also a neat rooftop bar that has good drinks and nice views of the city. Overall our stay was amazing at this charming historic inn. If you are seeking a romantic or relaxing stay, I highly recommend the Vendue Inn. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinstyle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,709 - 1,713 of 2,292 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2012

Have traveled to Charleston many times but this is the first time to the Vendue Inn. The rooms are small but charming! The staff were INCREDIBLE!! Very welcoming and accommodating. The location is absolutly PERFECT! Thanks Vendue for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: We stayed in the historic fireplace suite. Theser rooms have been remodeld and are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelaannapolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

There are surely nicer hotels in Charleston, but for the money, I truly don't think you can beat the location, the feel, or the hospitality.

We came to Charleston for our honeymoon in early May, which, we were told, happened to be the same time as graduation. Consequently, only the smallest rooms with no windows were available. The room was small, but it was clean and comfortable.

The staff was extremely helpful and made numerous wonderful recommendations for restaurants and attractions, all of which were within walking distance, which brings me to the best feature, which is the location. The Vendue Inn is less than a block from the Waterfront Park and close to everything we wanted to see and do while in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikimi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have very mixed feelings about the Vendue.

I'll start with the likes:
- good location
- lovely southern hospitality
- fresh, cold lemon water in the lobby
- AM coffee in the lobby

Dislikes:
- the property is looking shabby; it's in dire need of TLC; it's looking quite neglected and one is left with the feeling that corners are being cut
- we had a standard room; extremely low ceilings (and I'm only 5' tall) it felt claustrophobic; the A/C didn't work, the windows had been sealed shut
- the ceilings tiles in the hallway were either stained or in some cases, missing altogether
- stains on the carpets were prevalent
- a lot of the furniture was worn and tired looking

So while we liked the location and the southern hospitality, we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy-to-BeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in May. Arrived early and checked in with no problems. Great lobby area. We were on the 3rd floor traditional queen, not knowing that the room was directly below the rooftop bar. Music started at around 5pm and the was quite loud. we called the front desk immediately and asked to be moved to a different floor. They graciously moved and upgraded our room.
Morning breakfast at the library was excellent.
Milk and cookies at night.

Likes:
Comfortable beds
Location - a little busy side of the street
Walked to all restaurants for lunch and dinner, i recommend :
- 82 Queen
-Magnolias
-SNOB
- FIG
- Poogans Porch
Staff - Nikki and Laura

Dislike:
Bathrooms could use renovation

Room Tip: Stay away from rooftop bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magellan1521_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
2,955 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,281 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $236 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #1 Hotel in Charleston and #9 Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2017. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing