We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite hotel in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite hotel in Charleston”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have been staying at the Vendue Inn for 15 years. Always wonderful service and a great breakfast. The rooms are very comfortable and well done. Suites with fireplaces. Easy walk to all the sites in historic district.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlnmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,453
    426
    122
    73
    46
See reviews for
203
1,431
62
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Great experiance! went over and above to help us out!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCtraveler54171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in a JR Suite-checked in Feb 12 2012 and checked out Feb 16 2012, We truly enjoyed our stay the location is fantastic, walking distance to everything. Great breakfast in the morning, clean room, great bed and extra touches such as wine and cheese between 4 to 5 every day and milk/cookies at night. The staff is excellent. Try the shrimp cocktail at the roof top bar-really great sauce and fresh shrimp with a view to die for. The only think that the Vendue is missing is a workout facility ofcourse you can get a workout by walking around Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our king suite was spacious with a nice layout. Previous comments are correct about soundproofing. Our bedroom was quiet enough, but we heard our next door neighbors in their sitting area every afternoon/evening. Hotel is pet friendly, so we heard their dog occasionally too. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom had old fixtures, shower was small with prefab floor. Cabinets looked hand painted. If you want totally shiny, up to date surroundings, this isn't the place for you. We do like modern and spotless, but we did enjoy our stay here. Breakfast included is very good, with daily a daily special. Would recommend with reservations noted above. Would definitely ask for a quiet room. One last note, housekeeping was a little substandard....debris under sofa seat cushions, spatters on the door.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richfield, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

What we thought was a bed and breakfast (which is where we found the Vendue Inn under bedandbreakfast.com) turned out to be a "mini" hotel but with all the comforts of home. The staff was very pleasant and made our stay extremely enjoyable. From the gentlemen who opens your car door at curb side, to the check in/out staff to the wait staff. They treated us like we were the only guests in the place. The afternoon wine reception was very nice along with the 9:00 p.m. milk and cookies (great cookies!!!). The breakfast was very good and the whole experience was phenominal. A little spendy but well worth it. Would I go back to the Vendue Inn? ABSOLUTELY!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,797 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $286 - $604
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing