We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Misleading info on website as well as Tripadvisor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Misleading info on website as well as Tripadvisor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Vendue's website says it is a pet friendly hotel, as does Tripadvisor. We made our plans to bring our small dog based on this. However, when I went to the site to book the room...once you get into the "fine print", the only room that is actually pet friendly is the King Suite. Quite a sneaky way for them to push their more expensive rooms.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,361
    395
    113
    69
    42
See reviews for
187
1,328
60
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Charleston, SC was our destination of choice for a long weekend - our first of 2012. We booked the Vendue Inn mainly due to the great reviews we read on TripAdvisor. What a gem it was! From the moment we drove in and the valet came out to open car doors for us and take us to check in. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a Junior Suite within 24 Vendue Range (just across the small street directly in front of the main hotel building). Our room on the second floor was charming and cozy with brick exposed walls, a gas fireplace, a super large and super comfy king bed, a lounger built for two, along with a nice wing chair. Ice bucket was full, complimentary bottled water and turn down service. The bath was very nice with an oversized spa tub and shower built for two. Original wood floors, luxurious linens and very nice bath amenities completed the perfect room for a weekend getaway.

Staff was so friendly and very service oriented from the moment we arrived until we said goodbye. Everyone ensured we knew they were there to answer any question we may have or offer directions for somewhere we wanted to go or suggestions on what to see and do.

Galina was a true joy during our breakfast each morning. She had a ready smile, and remembered our likes each day from the first time she took our order. A full breakfast was complimentary during our stay, along with complimentary bicycles to run around town with.

Charleston was a beautiful city with lots of history and fantastic food at every turn. We will definitely return to Charleston, and book our stay once again at the Vendue Inn. If you're looking for the best, stay here and you will be in for a nice treat!

Room Tip: Rooms at 24 Vendue Range were spacious and very nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awaywego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We loved the Vendue Inn! The location, accommodations, food and hospitality were all excellent. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: The king fireplace suite was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smokymountainslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC area
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend in January, booking the hotel during a sale through one of the big online sites. Maybe people's expectations have to do with the price we paid, but I thought this was a wonderful place. All the staff were very nice and helpful. Our room was in the building across the street, 1st floor, and we didn't have any issues with noise. While the room was small, what do you expect from a historic building in such a great location? The room had enough space for us. It was very clean and charming with the exposed brick walls. The bed was sooooooo comfortable. The banana fosters french toast for breakfast was delish; the eggs any way offered a lot of food; I'd skip the Belgian waffle next time, it wasn't that great. Parking is a block away in a garage, $12 a day for self park. Borrowing the bikes was a great way to see the town and the beautiful homes. They also give you a lock (no helmets), which makes this ammenity even more useful. The location of this hotel is great - and there's a trolly stop at the end of the block. I would compare this place to staying at a B&B, and for what those cost in town, this place is worth it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

After reading all the positive reviews we booked a three night stay at the Vendue Inn for a New Years getaway. Unfortunately the hotel didn't live up to expectations. We had a standard room which turned out to be very small and near the elevators. All the rooms like ours were near the elevators which meant noise. The hotel offered to move us, but all the rooms were like the original one. The bathroom was pretty big but the shower head and water pressure could have been better.

Many reviews mention the staff. Our experience differed from most: It was clear that bellhops just wanted our gratuities and weren't really committed to making our stay enjoyable. On several occasions we were forced into being escorted to our room or given tours of the property, all it seems for their benefit.

Many reviews also praised the breakfast. We felt the breakfast was truly lackluster. The service was harried and forgetful. "Eggs any style" apparently excludes omelets. The waitress said, "They'll kill me if I ask." The orange juice is from concentrate and the granola had three almonds and was mostly oats. We were sad that we'd chosen a hotel that had such a mediocre breakfast, when we could have eaten at Hominy Grill every day for breakfast.

Afternoon wine and cheese, was all processed cheese and mediocre wine.

This kind of service was good in the 1990s but not anymore. For the price, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't choose a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,619 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel

Property: The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Address: 19 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $289 - $634
Hotel Class:4 star — The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently named #4 Best Small City Hotel in the U.S. by Travel + Leisure 2015. Charleston's Art Hotel, The Vendue, is located in the city's historic French Quarter just steps from world-renowned galleries and boutiques. The hotel features 2-3 rotating exhibits per year, allowing guests to explore and discover art from around the globe. Innovative cuisine, enticing art displays and panoramic rooftop views collectively inspire guests at every turn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendue Hotel Charleston
Vendue Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing