We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
John Rutledge House Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Planters Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
608
76
32
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
76
32
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main houseb bcarriage house roomsbroad streetgrand suitetempurpedic mattressdeclaration of independenceshrimp and gritseach morningbottled waterwithin walking distancelovely courtyardmodern conveniencesother guestsconcierge staffbed and breakfasthistoric property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Amazing! The concierge who checked us in was excellent and also assisted us eagerly throughout our entire stay. She recommended restaraunts, gave us menus, offered to make reservations, gave tips on attractions, and more, all with a smile and a great attitude. The breakfast was amazing, and it was a luxury to not need to get dressed beforehand; we just had it delivered to our room (also available to be delivered to the ballroom or courtyard.) It was beautiful and had a beautiful location. I was giddy with excitement checking in after seeing the place, and would stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house, which we loved because it was less busy with people coming in to check in than the main house
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addiemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our second stay at this elegant and historic B & B. Truly memorable inn; the suite was beautifully furnished, the staff very helpful and accommodating. Delicious breakfasts, especially the shrimp and grits. Excellent location. Would also recommend eating at their associated restaurant, Circa, with their 3 course price fixed $42 menu for guests of the inn. Great food, wonderful service, lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay this this historic B&B. We had a deluxe room on the third floor with a gas fireplace that was lovely, spacious and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the afternoon teas in the ballroom where we shared experiences with fellow travelers and the gracious staff as well as breakfasts in the courtyard. The entire staff could not have been more helpful, from promptly attending to a minor plumbing issue to offering excellent restaurant and sightseeing recommendations.

This is a charming place to stay in a superb location and we will definitely return on our next Charleston visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rube1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

At the John Rutledge Inn, you step back in time in a very elegant manner. The inn has both historical and southern charm. I stayed there two times in one month. The first weekend, my husband and I occupied the grand suite on the first floor, which is one of the best suites we have had. It had two fireplaces, very high ceilings, long windows, a high step-up bed, and lots of space. It was the equivalent of having two sizable living rooms at your disposal. Unlike some breakfasts at inns, this one was simple and to-order from a selection of options from light to more substantial, not the overload or minimal continental selections that sometimes occur in other inns. You still are able to enjoy both lunch and dinner after a breakfast at the John Rutledge Inn, and gauge it to your appetite. I particularly enjoyed the shrimp and grits.

A few weeks later, I went with my sister and stayed in a room with two double beds on the third floor. It was terrific as well -- very large -- and the beds were great with top-notch mattresses. I had ordered some appetizers and wine as a surprise for my sister -- and they were elegantly presented. All staff were friendly and very helpful. We had all the support we needed to see the sights and visit the great restaurants in Charleston. We will be back, and so will our friends!

Room Tip: Look at the descriptions and photos on the website. They were accurate, and if anything, the rooms we had surpassed what we saw on line.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_vanderlinde44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Nice place -- 18 couples reserved the entire B&B for an informal weekend reunion. Tea and dinner upstairs in the "ballroom" (really, a comfortable salon) one night; breakfast in the courtyard; watching the St. Patrick's Day parade from the balcony -- all in all, very nice. Only critique: their WiFi network is painfully slow (kinda like they were broadcasting/sharing a 56k dial-up connection).

Room Tip: away from the street, and not on the ground floor. (George Washington's room was No 5 I believe)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews