We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful home and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
John Rutledge House Inn
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful home and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our first experience with a bed and breakfast. We couldn't have stayed in a nicer home. Everyone was very friendly and and wanted our stay to be comfortable. It was like staying with family. We also enjoyed the history attached to this home.

Room Tip: Any room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    70
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
108
371
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Amazing! The concierge who checked us in was excellent and also assisted us eagerly throughout our entire stay. She recommended restaraunts, gave us menus, offered to make reservations, gave tips on attractions, and more, all with a smile and a great attitude. The breakfast was amazing, and it was a luxury to not need to get dressed beforehand; we just had it delivered to our room (also available to be delivered to the ballroom or courtyard.) It was beautiful and had a beautiful location. I was giddy with excitement checking in after seeing the place, and would stay here again if given the chance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage house, which we loved because it was less busy with people coming in to ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addiemac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Hills, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our second stay at this elegant and historic B & B. Truly memorable inn; the suite was beautifully furnished, the staff very helpful and accommodating. Delicious breakfasts, especially the shrimp and grits. Excellent location. Would also recommend eating at their associated restaurant, Circa, with their 3 course price fixed $42 menu for guests of the inn. Great food, wonderful service, lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay this this historic B&B. We had a deluxe room on the third floor with a gas fireplace that was lovely, spacious and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the afternoon teas in the ballroom where we shared experiences with fellow travelers and the gracious staff as well as breakfasts in the courtyard. The entire staff could not have been more helpful, from promptly attending to a minor plumbing issue to offering excellent restaurant and sightseeing recommendations.

This is a charming place to stay in a superb location and we will definitely return on our next Charleston visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rube1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

At the John Rutledge Inn, you step back in time in a very elegant manner. The inn has both historical and southern charm. I stayed there two times in one month. The first weekend, my husband and I occupied the grand suite on the first floor, which is one of the best suites we have had. It had two fireplaces, very high ceilings, long windows, a high step-up bed, and lots of space. It was the equivalent of having two sizable living rooms at your disposal. Unlike some breakfasts at inns, this one was simple and to-order from a selection of options from light to more substantial, not the overload or minimal continental selections that sometimes occur in other inns. You still are able to enjoy both lunch and dinner after a breakfast at the John Rutledge Inn, and gauge it to your appetite. I particularly enjoyed the shrimp and grits.

A few weeks later, I went with my sister and stayed in a room with two double beds on the third floor. It was terrific as well -- very large -- and the beds were great with top-notch mattresses. I had ordered some appetizers and wine as a surprise for my sister -- and they were elegantly presented. All staff were friendly and very helpful. We had all the support we needed to see the sights and visit the great restaurants in Charleston. We will be back, and so will our friends!

Room Tip: Look at the descriptions and photos on the website. They were accurate, and if anything, the rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_vanderlinde44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Rutledge House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Rutledge House Inn

Property: John Rutledge House Inn
Address: 116 Broad St, Charleston, SC 29401-2437
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $438 - $554
Hotel Class:4 star — John Rutledge House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Most Historic Inn. John Rutledge, one of the fifty-five signers of the U.S. Constitution, built his home in 1763. Now exquisitely restored, it is one of only fifteen homes belonging to those signers to survive - and the only one to now accommodate overnight hotel guests. History records that George Washington called here in 1791. An entry in his diary shows a breakfast with Mrs. Rutledge. A loving rejuvenation has restored the beautiful details of the home's 18th and 19th century architecture: the elaborately carved Italian marble fireplaces, the original plaster moldings, the inlaid floors and the graceful ironwork. The John Rutledge House Inn offers nineteen guest rooms within a complex of three buildings. One may choose between the elegance of rooms and spacious suites in the original grand residence or the charm and seclusion of rooms in the inn's two carriage houses. Antiques and historically accurate reproductions give each room its own warmth and distinction. John Rutledge House Inn is proud to be a founding hotel in Historic Hotels of America, as well as Select Registry - Distinguished Inns of America and Classic Inns of the South. Guests may leave cars parked on-site for their entire stay because the best of this beautiful port city is just beyond the doors of the John Rutledge House Inn. The city's finest restaurants, theaters, shops, and the Old City Market are all in short walking distance. The gorgeous residential area "South of Broad" begins directly opposite the Inn. A stay in this elegant antebellum bed and breakfast offers the opportunity to experience history as well as the warm hospitality for which the South is justly famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your John Rutledge House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Rutledge House Hotel Charleston
John Rutledge Hotel
John Rutledge Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing