We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andrew Pinckney Inn
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've been to Charleston many times and this is one of my favorite places to stay. We had a huge room...the townhouse room with our own balcony and it was very reasonably priced! Loved the breakfast and the free pass to the ECO gym. Great location and wonderful staff!

Room Tip: The townhouse room is great if you have older children with you. They can stay on the pull-out sofa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    380
    136
    55
    36
See reviews for
269
827
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here for 4 nights. Our room had really old wood floors and very nice crown molding. It was very clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was a little tight, but also nicely furnished. Breakfast was good. They offered biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, pastries, and a different type of casserole each day. The front desk staff (Sandy and Ed) were very nice and helpful. Room service was excellent, though they come very early, so if you want to sleep past 9am, be sure to put your "do not disturb" sign on the door. It didn't even cross our minds and we were woken up at 9 and again at 9:30 on our last day. The location is fantastic. You can walk anywhere in downtown Charleston. The only reason I don't give this inn 5 stars is because of parking. We were told to park in the Bank of America parking garage across the street. Parking was very limited. Most of the garage is reserved for bank employees. One afternoon, we had to circle the garage a couple of times waiting for a spot to open up. When we left to go home around 1pm on a Friday there were no spots available. For $15 a day, I expected garuanteed parking. Overall, this place was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BermudaBum2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Boston Mi.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

we stayed at A.P.I. May 2011, small bargin room which was small, but clean and very enjoyable as we did not spend a lot of time there. The morning breakfast was very good on the roof patio crowded at times but well worth it.Check in was smooth and staff was excellent and very helpful answering questions. Location was also excellent, you could walk to all downtown Charleston locations, great visit and will greturn to A.P.I. next visit to Charlston This time of year mid May was prefict weather wise.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulbrz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I think the title sums it up. Location is great but the room was not all that for the money. I guess they know they can get it and don't care about the quality. The staff was friendly...rooms were just lame for the price. Look somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain-smiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

What a lovely hotel right in the middle of down town old Charleston, bags of charm and old style hospitality.
Easy to book and deal with, real friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable rooms with all you need for a visit to Charleston.
The reception staff helped with arranging sight seeing tours and advice on where to go and what to see, their suggestions were really helpful for us being first time visitors to Charleston.
The location could not be better for shopping and dining, with a wide variety of restaurants and shops within a 5 minute stroll from the hotel.
Breakfast on the roof top veranda with views of the harbour approach, the choice of food was excellent and fresh.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone what ever the reason for your visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Pinckney Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Pinckney Inn

Property: Andrew Pinckney Inn
Address: 40 Pinckney St, Charleston, SC 29401-3115
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $305 - $583
Hotel Class:4 star — Andrew Pinckney Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andrew Pinckney Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Pinckney Hotel Charleston
Andrew Pinckney Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing