We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 295
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Priceline
USD 295
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/22
Trip.com
USD 216
View deal
Expedia.comUSD 272
Hotels.comUSD 272
FindHotelUSD 234
View all 21 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,853)
Filter reviews
3,853 results
Traveller rating
1,998
1,175
395
174
111
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,998
1,175
395
174
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swamp fox historic hotel great location king street an older hotel within walking distance small bathroom beautiful lobby bell staff downtown charleston bed was very comfortable parking garage southern hospitality conference college charm valet
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 3,853 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2021

This hotel has weathered the years well. The grandeur of the past has been embellished by the renovations of the future....modern windows installed, but extra coats of paint on the doors remind us that this hotel is a classic from generations past. The only downside was housekeeping, which I can forgive in light of the Covid effects resulting is staff shortages..Location across the street from the free DASH bus shuttle was a plus in an already excellent location. I’d love to;return.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClwMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2021

If you want something other than a Marriott with some charm, Francis Marion is a great choice. The location is perfect for walking everywhere. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are tiny, so know that going in. The Swamp Fox restaurant is in the hotel and serves from morning to night, and the food is good. I would return to this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank susansZ6928FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2021

Francis Marion has a convenient location just across from King Street shopping area. Meeting St restaurants are a few blocks away, and Battery is a 25-30 minute walk (highly recommended in early morning). Staff were friendly, efficient and calm even though hotel was busy. Special thanks to Sylvie at Swamp Fox restaurant, who was remarkably welcoming and helpful during our nice lunch there. The hotel building is from an elegant, earlier era and is clean and well maintained. Furnishings in my 6th floor room seemed new and I had a nice view over the historic district. Bathroom was small as was typical of that era, but enough for one person at a time. Hotel is reasonably priced by Charleston standards. I would stay there again. (As aside, hotel recommends masks but few guests wore them, even on crowded elevators — but this seemed to be the case everywhere in Charleston).

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JBoversea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2021

My husband was not well, and the hotel not only allowed us to check in early, but upgraded our room. The valet parking went so quickly and bellhops were super helpful. Our room was very clean. Since it is an older hotel the bathroom was quite small but that did not bother us. Furnishings were befitting an historic Charleston hotel, beds comfortable and the view from the room very nice of the park across the street. The location is perfect if you want to walk the historic section of the city. Even though the spa is not part of the hotel, my husband had an excellent massage.

Room tip: The best views are from the upper floors where you can see the park and the river.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank connieherringdine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2021

I last visited the Francis Marion Hotel in 1966. I dined at the Swamp Fox. Charleston was a dry city then. Much has changed but the Francis Marion still has a gentility and an elegance.
I paid extra in order to have a view of the harbor. The view was worth it. The room was much better than average: comfortable bed, slightly cramped bathroom, wonderful tv. The service was friendly and reliable.

Date of stay: September 2021
2  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews