We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charleston Food + Wine Festival Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Charleston Food + Wine Festival Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Perfect place to stay for the Charleston Food + Wine Festival. Within walking distance of everything you want to see and do in Charleston. The staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    845
    285
    123
    79
See reviews for
487
860
87
612
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We were in town for three nights for the Charleson Food and Wine Festival. The Francis Marion offered a wonderful package with tickets to the festival events and good overnight rates. The hotel was extremely well situated in getting to the main festival events. The staff was incredibly helpful, especially the Conceirge, Valerie Ross, in coordinating our stay before our arrival! In addition, the service was great while we were there, from the bellmen, the front desk staff and housekeeping, everyone was tremendous.

The room was pretty good sized for an historic hotel. It was well appointed with a flat screen tv and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom, however, left a little bit to be desired. I expected a small bathroom for a small hotel. It was a bit difficult to maneuver and you couldn't get ready in the bathroom--but the room had a vanity so it provided a place for you to store your gear and put make-up on etc.

My one and only complaint is the fact that we had a room with an ajoining door. I could hear EVERYTHING the two girls said in the next room. They were up every morning at 7:30 and unfortunately, so was I. Ask for a room that does NOT have an ajoining door, unless of course, you're traveling with friends and family and want that. Otherwise, we would definitely consider staying here on our next visit to Charleston.

Room Tip: Rooms without an ajoining door are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kz_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Hotels in Charleston are not inexpensive. And the taxes that are added are rediculous! Our room had a spectacular view of the harbour and surrounding area. It was situated right across the hall from where the service elevator is and the carts for room upkeep are kept as well as the stairs. Consequently, the noisy carts would cross the marble threshold with a thunk and a crash at regular intervals which spoiled the room (we stayed 2 nights). The front desk person cared less. Being an old building I should not have been surprised by silver fish in the bathroom, I guess. At almost $300/night with taxes though, I was still unimpressed. We arrived mid-morning and they had a room ready and didn't charge extra, so that was nice. And afternoon iced tea and roasted pecans was a nice touch. But be sure to check you bill as they tried to charge us for 2 nights of parking ($38) and we did not have a vehicle.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the rooms on the north-west corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLStewart154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The people are helpful and friendly! This hotel will not disappoint, they go above and beyond to service their guest. Wish they took pets!!

Room Tip: Suites are great and charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I had a very brief stay at the Francis Marion-- only one night-- but it was absolutely worth it. As many have noted here, the staff was courteous, extremely knowledgeable and helpful, and very quick with assistance when needed. My room was nicely upgraded to a deluxe, and was large and very nice--extra clean, and with a comfortable bed. Of course, the building itself was gorgeous and quite nice. It's location, as well, cannot be beat-- it's very central to any sight you'd wish to visit, which meant that I parked my car and then simply left it there, content to walk from the hotel to my destinations. Overall, it made quite an impression, and I hope future business trips to Charleston will afford a return visit to the Frances Marion.

Room Tip: See if an upgrade to a corner room is available, for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price range (per night): $181 - $472
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, TravelClick and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing