We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“southern comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This place is a gem. A picture perfect inn that could, with its double wrap-around verandahs/piazzas, be just another gracious Beaufort private house. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, thoughnot over the top. The on-site parking is convenient and there is no additional charge for it. But the specialness of the Rhett House is the masterful combination of service and casualness . There is always someone around to answer questions and make arrangements. At the same time the parlor always has help-yourself ice tea and cookies, or cheese and crackers and wine and honor-system liquor. At night there are luscious southern home-made desserts (think pecan pie or chocolate cake)to eat then or save for a bedtime treat,and the breakfasts, served in the dining room or on the downstairs verandah (at your pleasure) ... if you like grits these are among the best .. is worth getting up for. The street is quiet, the amenities of the town are a convenient walk away.. And Beaufort itself is a perfect stop for visiting the low country islands and studying gulah culture.

Room Tip: I think the ones on the second floor of the main house are wonderful because at the end of the hall...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merhabaRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Your wonderful compliments of the Inn, staff and our wonderful town are greatly appreciated. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,016)
There are newer reviews for The Rhett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 715 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had a lovely time here. Rooms were nice and breakfast on veranda was great. Good location off main street, so quieter, but still walking distance to everything. They even had bikes to loan, which was a really fun way to see the town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralcrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are in a great location and are glad you had a chance to use the bikes to tour the area. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our recent stay was the third or fourth at the Rhett House Inn and the hospitality continues to exceed expectations. Staff is friendly and pleasant and goes out of its way to be helpful. The Inn itself is lovely; the living room and front porch are perfect for quiet afternoon reading or just watching the world go by. In the private garden, the azaleas were in full bloom and what could be better than that? Good restaurants, fun shopping and art galleries, and Beaufort's well-done marina are all within easy walking distance of the Inn. And the clip-cloppity sounds of carriage horse hooves are as relaxing as it gets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis and Kath... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

We always look forward to welcoming you back. Our staff loves what they do and it is our pleasure to make sure every aspect of your stay is wonderful. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We just returned from 2 nights at the Rhett House Inn while celebrating my hubby's 50th. What a way to celebrate if you have to remember this birthday. The inn is very delightful and well kept, very clean and the people there are very hospitable. We enjoyed welcoming cookies and lemonade, had cheese and crackers in the evening and even enjoyed key lime pie and chocolate cake(gregs fav) in the evening after dinner. We stayed at the property that is just around the corner from the main inn but it was delightful. It overlooks one of the oldest graveyards with a realm of southern war history. The town it self is very quaint and easy to get around. A very nice place to walk or run near the river and see sailboats and ships. We also took our bikes to Hunting Island, a state park and enjoyed a flat ride and stayed on the beach for several hours. What a wonderful way to celebrate a birthday or any event. We will be back. thanks .

Room Tip: we stayed in the rooms around the corner from the inn, very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

We are so glad you had a memorable 50th Birthday. Thank you for your wonderful compliments of the Inn and the amenities we offer. Our location is truly an amazing asset that allows our guests convenient access to the waterfront park, restaurants, shopping and tours. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My stay at the Rhett House Inn was a really good one. It's a beautiful place and they make you feel right at home. The breakfast servers were so very nice and helpful and the evening desserts were sooo good! It's within walking distance to some beautiful sites and I hope I can go back again soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 with 2 queen beds and our own entrance to the garden and parking as well as the...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.3 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,215 reviews
0.4 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
956 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Beaufort

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: $260 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing