We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High expectations exceeded!”

Beaufort Kayak Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Owner-operated Beaufort Kayak Tours provides narrated natural and cultural history tours in the scenic waters of Beaufort County. Kayak with Kim and David to visit historical downtown Beaufort, the secluded ACE Basin, or the palm-studded lagoon of Hunting Island. Discover our area's Civil War history, the impact of rice culture, and the mysteries of the salt marsh and barrier islands. Please visit our website for more information.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High expectations exceeded!”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We went on Kim and David's Hunting Island tour and it was fantastic! We had only kayaked once before and had no problems. Along the way David and Kim point out wildlife, oysterbeds, etc. A couple of stops along the way gave us a chance to rest while we received very informative lessons about the local ecosystem and habitat. Why do local oysters make their beds where they are exposed at low tide? We saw pelicans, storks, blue crabs, dolphins, cranes, and yes even an alligator. Fantastic afternoon.

Helpful?
1 Thank MPC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Can't wait for another trip!”
Reviewed 26 May 2011

My parents were visiting South Carolina from Indiana and this kayak trip on Hunting Island was the highlight of their trip! Kim and David were awesome!! They had so many fun and interesting things to share with us. I really liked the opportunity to make a few stops and explore our surroundings. This made the kayak trip very unique! I can't wait to take another trip with them!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank rangerwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Would do it again.”
Reviewed 14 May 2011

Beautiful, interesting, fun. Loved the rice plantation history in the Ace Base.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank PrinceHaakon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“A great way to see Beaufort homes!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is a great opportunity for singles to large groups to see Beaufort from a new perspective! Our group had experienced kayakers to those who couldn't even swim. The vistas were great, we learned the history of the waterways and area, and best of all, as most homes face the water, we had great upclose views of historic homes and mansions. Dave and Gene were great guides, and we all had a blast. I highly recommend this!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank MySheWasYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
257 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

David and Gene took our party of 6 and another couple on our adventure on Friday. The seaside tour of the historic Beafort homes was fantastic. They were very knowledgeable and took care of our group of rookie paddlers. Sadly, due to my experience, they had to tow me across the river as I got into the rhythm but they were good sports about it. We ran into a bit of choppy water on the return and they talked everyone through the experience and all made it safely back to shore. This was an awesome experience and one I want to experience again!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Glassgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beaufort Kayak Tours also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beaufort Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing