We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lionel Champlin Guest House
Nearby Hotels
USD 945
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 431
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 477
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 536/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 452
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 381
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 588
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 681/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 783
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 444/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
62
5
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
5
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose roomprivate bathfront porchcakesrotary clubaround the cornerthird floorwonderful staynice weekendspacious common areaseach morningshort drivecouple of nightscoffee teawarm hospitalityfresh fruitrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Thank you for welcoming us into your beautiful home! We greatly appreciated your warm hospitality & enjoyed spending time getting to know you. We loved the architectural details throughout each of your common areas & were very impressed with our gorgeous room on the third floor. The furnishings & artwork were beautiful. The raised seating area within our bedroom was exceptional, allowing us to clearly see the Newport Bridge & several sailboats participate in a regatta across the ocean. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit & hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank smg121178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This year, the owners of the Lionel Champlin Guest house introduced our family to the larger vacation rental they own on Valley Street. They occasionally offer this private in-town residence to guests who need more than a room or two, but you need to book a full week I think, not just a couple of nights.

We were delighted by the location of the house (right near library and huge playground, across from bakery and convenience store). It had all the comforts we needed to enjoy a weeks' stay with family and friends stopping in to eat, swim and visit.

Pretty wooden shutters, cotton sheets & linens, a beautiful kitchen stocked with saute pans, bowls, glassware, cutlery, coffee maker, microwave, etc. and everything else we needed to move in effortlessly. WiFi, cable TV as well.

My husband and I slept in the master bedroom with Jacuzzi (sparkling clean!), the room also had a balcony overlooking the pool. And yes,THE POOL-- perfect sized, with beautiful garden flowers all around, table, chaise lounges, grill, etc. The kids spent hours and hours swimming with friends.

The AC was spectacularly quiet and kept the whole house really comfortable. My children were delighted by their bunk beds, and had a friend sleepover too in the room which slept 3. There was another bedroom as well.

I don't think I can detail all the nice touches & fixtures, but really just want to say, this is the perfect vacation house for people who want to move right in and enjoy hanging out by the pool, entertaining and just relaxing in a central spot in Jamestown. This is a very pretty home, and clearly well cared for. We kept commenting on the 'good vibes' if that makes any sense to you. A nice feeling all around, and perfect for a family with children.

Highly recommended. We hope to stay again!

Room Tip: In-town vacation house is worth asking about if you have a few people
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elizacoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Very nice inn. We stayed in the Rose room which was very cozy and comfortable. The Inn was walking distance to shopping, eating, and the water. We came to go to the Chowder Festival in Newport. We drove over to it, a 15 min drive but could have taken a ferry over.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Beautiful home with wonderful accommodating innkeepers. The Captain's Quarters on the 3rd floor has two levels, a wonderful view down to the harbor and a huge bathroom with double sink, great walk-in shower and skylights. So sunny and cheerful. Great porch also.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spfrang10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

My daughter and friend stayed for two nights and were very happy with the accomodations. Convenient to downtown - walk to waterfront, restaurants and shops just around the corner. Newport just a short drive over the bridge. They would definitely recommend the Lionel Champlin!

Room Tip: All rooms quiet. Nice views in some rooms.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AmandaKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews