We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special!”

The Handsome Cab Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 18 Nightlife in York
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Handsome Cab offers its clientele a striking venue in which to congregate amongst friends, family, or business associates. We provide attentive yet relaxed service to our patrons whether they are stopping in for a quick cocktail after work, or settling into gastronomic plates prepared on site and served at our lounge, bar, or intimate table settings (or in our private wine cellar). Our music feature selections from an eclectic collection of sound to compliment the mood of the moment. Our space is adorned by original works of art to create historical resonance within our building and the surrounding area. Finally, our second floor comprising of three rooms is dedicated to original works of art and available to our patrons for enjoyment or purchase. Visit The Handsome Cab to enjoy an environment designed to engage the senses in an uncompromised celebration of the beauty of life.
Reviewed 4 March 2018

This is a wonderful place to eat . It is so multifaceted with all the events they have to offer. The owners have so many new ideas that no other place has done.This is an excellent place to go for a special evening or a Sunday afternoon learning experience. Br sure to check out the art gallery!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank smohr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small plates"
in 6 reviews
"scallops"
in 4 reviews
"an art gallery"
in 4 reviews
"nice selection of wines"
in 2 reviews
"coconut cake"
in 2 reviews
"by the glass"
in 2 reviews
"grand piano"
in 2 reviews
"sliders"
in 2 reviews
"the wait staff"
in 2 reviews
"downtown york"
in 4 reviews
"dining area"
in 2 reviews
"live entertainment"
in 2 reviews
"potatoes"
in 2 reviews
"entrees"
in 6 reviews
"brunch"
in 3 reviews
"heather"
in 3 reviews
"bartender"
in 5 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2018

My husband and I had a rare date night recently and decided to head out on the town for the evening. We had dinner at a different local establishment, but we were not ready to head home yet, so we decided to see if we could find room at the bar at The Handsome Cab. Thankfully, the poor weather kept a lot of people away until late that night, so we were able to get a coveted seat at the well-stocked bar. My husband got 2 red wines from their extensive wine menu, and because I am not really a wine drinker, I got a peach bellini and a white sangria. That bellini was the best I've had anywhere, and we will definitely be back so that I can get it again.

As far as the atmosphere, it was fun, lively, and sophisticated. There was live piano entertainment -- the pianist was fantastic -- and that just added to the impressive atmosphere. Upstairs, there is an art gallery where artists' work is displayed and available for purchase. That is such a unique touch to this bar/restaurant. We absolutely loved it, and we both thought that this is just what York needed!

The bartenders were very friendly, attentive, and knowledgeable. They welcomed us immediately and gave great recommendations on different wines and drinks. Next time -- and there definitely will be a next time -- my husband wants to try one of their generous wine flights. (He had wine envy as he watched some of the wine flights come out!)

We absolutely loved the feel of The Handsome Cab, and we decided that our next date night will bring us back to try out their dinner menu.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank YorkTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

I visited The Handsome Cab for brunch. I had an incredible omelette with sides, one word description - Awesome.
Experienced great service, great food and we were lucky to have Heather as our server.
So if you're looking for a nice place and good food for brunch put The Handsome Cab on your list.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank angelod822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Finally a restaurant in York that gives The Left Bank some competition! This restaurant is a cozy, modern designed restaurant with art work on the 2nd floor to view and purchase. It has a nice sized bar and a piano for live entertainment. The food and wine are outstanding! The service is phenomenal..Heather does a fantastic job! She is attentive and helpful with special selections. They have at least 30+ wines on tap and an extensive wine list with wines by the glass, bottles of fine wine and wine flights. The have in house made limoncello and orangcello that are absolutely delicious! They have mostly small plates and shareable, all being amazing and a few regular size entrees. We had their cream of crab soup, beet salad with honey dijon vinaigrette, buffalo chicken wings, sausage sliders and salmon sliders. They all are so delicious with complex flavors! The highlight was a date wrapped with bacon stuffed with blue cheese. This was one of the best foods I've ever placed in my mouth! You have to try it to believe how good it is. We had a couple of desserts including the chocolate dessert, the coconut cake ( a house specialty) and the cheesecake, all which were amazing! We had a fabulous experience and would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves great service, food,wine, drinks and a great time! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We went early last Saturday with friends. We shared 4 "shareables" and ordered 2 flights of wine. Quality of food and drink was very good, prices were a bit higher than we anticipated, since the online menu has no prices. All in all, we enjoyed the food, service and ambience and will most likely return.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Handsome Cab Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Handsome Cab Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing