We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, attentive service with a genuine willingness to improve. Excellent location.”
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, attentive service with a genuine willingness to improve. Excellent location.”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Wayne hotel is a lovely old building that has been neatly renervated on the lobby, bar and dining area. I visited when the march sun was out in style and the porch area at the front is a great place to sit an watch the world go by. It is well located for the better bars and restaurants in Wayne and well worth a visit.

The highlight was the service. The staff were very friendly and attentive and special mention must go to Tom at front of house, who made me feel like a long lost friend coming home. Great jobs guys - looking forward to my next visit already!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyH0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    63
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
36
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Recently we spent our third visit at the Wayne Hotel. The place itself is a real flashback to the days when the Main Line really was the Main Line. At the same time the area within easy walking distance - especially a range of great restaurants, is very today.

Each time we've been there the guy behind the check in desk Tom has made all the difference. His personality made us feel like family and he was right on the money when suggesting places for us to eat.

The train (SEPTA) station is around the corner making it a straight shot from NYC too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barto, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The room was small...no tissues, just foam cups...stains on the rug. The service at the bar was slow and inexperienced. While the brunch tasted good - the service was terrible and it took 20 minutes to even pay the final bill. The waitress even spilled an entire drink on the family sitting next to us! Check-in was fine but after we checked out, the hotel staff mixed up items left behind in the room and sent home to us while they belonged to another family - needless to say - we footed the bill and it is a struggle to get any reimbursement for their mistakes! While the atmosphere of the hotel and restaurant is pleasing to the eyes...it is unfortunately managed very poorly with not much accountability for their actions and lack of quality customer service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFreedman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Wayne Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
In an unfortunate series of circumstances, a lost & found item was shipped to this guest after she misidentified it as hers. Once the error was realized we contacted the guest and assured her of reimbursement for returning the item. The guest returned the item and was reimbursed on the same day the item was received.

As General Manager, I am fully accountable to our guests and strive at all times to exceed their expectations for quality accommodations, professional service and genuine hospitality. I was very cordial in my direct interaction with this guest. At no time during her stay or our conversation did she express any dissatisfaction with her accommodations or service. After reading this guest’s comment about stains on the bedroom carpet I examined the room and found this statement to be false.

While we thank this guest for her constructive and positive comments regarding check-in, great-tasting brunch and our pleasing atmosphere, I would maintain that this guests 2 star rating is unreasonable and without merit.
Sincerely,
David Brennan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have had the great pleasure over the last several months to be a guest at the Wayne Hotel on several occasions. Our son and his wife live in Wayne, PA, and our first grandson was born just before Christmas which prompted several visits around the holidays. I've never been very keen on traveling at Christmas time because of the coldness of being in a hotel during the holidays. But our stay at the Wayne Hotel was, simply put, like being at home away from home. The friendliness of the staff and the warm, welcoming decor of the hotel brought such comfort to our stay. The perfect size of the hotel is large enough to enjoy privacy while at the same time small enough to allow for some friendly conversation with the staff as we became well acquainted with each stay. The staff all conduct themselves with a great deal of professionalism and courtesy, always going above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful experience. Each immaculate room has it's own character because of the historic design of the building, and provides fully updated and beautifully remodeled bathrooms and media. The beds are the most comfortable that I've ever experienced in any hotel. They have the perfect blend of firmness and cushiony softness. It is also evident that great care is given to ensure fresh linens and plush white towels to help pamper the guests. From the moment you walk into the beautiful lobby of the Wayne Hotel and are greeted by the friendly host at the quaint front desk, you will feel at home. Our experience at the Wayne Hotel has been exceptional, and we look forward to many more visits in the future!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the king size beds and extra roomy bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Wayne Hotel, as stated in other reviews, is right off the main line - a great way to get into downtown Philly. But the location itself is not the only thing that sold us on this hotel; the beds were incredibly comfortable, staff members were extremely courteous and helpful, and there were always free treats in the lobby to greet us every evening. There was also a well-rounded continental breakfast (would highly recommend the chocolate croissants). We will definitely stay here again when we return to the area!

Room Tip: Ask for Springsteen's room. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.7 km away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
385 reviews
2.2 km away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
6.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
934 reviews
5.4 km away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
790 reviews
7.0 km away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-3596
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price range (per night): $155 - $272
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with getaroom.com so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing