We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnegie Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carnegie Inn & Spa
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in State College
Certificate of Excellence
tbonenj
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed at the Carnegie House and were blown away. The room was spacious and comfortable. I took a long soak in the oversized spa like bathtub and my strees melted away. Thestaff went far and beyond to make us feel welcome and well cared for. We dined on the back porch and admired the beautiful wildflowers and simple serenity this place had to offer. It also includes a fabulous made to order breakfast. If you need a break from the city or are looking for simple getaway, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbonenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    28
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
44
81
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Accompanied my husband for business. The hotel is charming with nice sized rooms and bathroom with a wonderful soaking tub, separate shower and super comfortable bed. Lovely grounds but we were most impressed with the staff. The most helpful and friendly staff I think I have ever encountered. It was a slow day at the hotel and we could not make the 9:30 cut off time for breakfast due to a meeting. It was at least an hour after the dining room closed but the chef came out and asked us what we wanted and cooked it fresh for us.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

My husband and I visited in winter -- it must be so beautiful in the green seasons! It's in a quiet location, attached to a golf course. The view out of every window is bucolic. It is an inn rather than a hotel, a little big for a B&B but so polished and friendly! The decor is especially handsome -- shiny brass, flowered materials. Each room has a seating area and a unique decorating scheme. The bathroom -- it was bigger than my kitchen! A shower AND a soaking tub, immaculately clean.
When you arrive, you tell the innkeeper what time you'd like to have dinner. Then we went up to our room and sat, relaxing and talking. Then it was time for dinner, so we went to The Library, where other guests were gathered before dinner. It IS a library, with many seatings areas of sofas and chairs. We sat and gave a wine order to the pleasant server who immediately stopped by. She also gave us menus, and so we ordered before going into the dining room. A bit later, we were shown to our table. It was an elegant way to begin a splendid dinner.
We also had breakfast in that dining room, full and excellent.
This is a gracious and quiet inn, designed for to pampered you in style. We loved it and plan to be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelersTwo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

The positive - nice bed, bathtub
The Negatives - for $400 a night plus tax in the middle of nowhere I expect a lot more service and comfort. Booked this hotel solely on the great recommendations, it was a mistake. This hotel is perfect for an older crowd with money to burn, its a quiet place with nice homey feel, but it offers no luxurious amenities usually associated with a highly priced hotel once again in the middle of nowhere. Had it been priced at $200 I would of not been prompted to write my 1st review ever. But when I am shelling out $400 a night I expect there to be a smartly placed decor, not a big clunky armor with an ancient tv in it placed so that no one can watch it. Also when it is clearly said over the phone that a shuttle will be provided, when in fact you have to hike a mile to another hotel to get a shuttle to Penn State that only runs after the games have started or 3 hours before, not cool! The host did nothing to help me in the situation, laughing when I asked about public transport, not knowing the schedule for it. It seemed like the host had no clue about typical issues that any hotel once again for $400 should know. They were not helpful in any way! There was nothing that distinguished this hotel from any other $200 priced ones in great cities like Boston, Seattle, or San Diego and those provided all the things like flat screen tvs, slippers, cuetips, and etc. These things are not important but are expected when paying so much.

This was suppose to be a great little getaway from a highly stressed overworked environment, it turned out to be just another stressful weekend not a relaxing and comfortable one. I will not be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2redesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebeckah, Manager at Carnegie Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
We at Carnegie House deeply regret that you did not enjoy your stay. I have spoken to each of our staff about the game day transportation so further miscommunication will not occur. Carnegie House guests have quick access to the Penn State game shuttle via a 5 minute walk to the Toftrees resort, along a winding wooded path through the golf course. The shuttle runs continuously from 3 hours before the game until kick-off and for an hour and half after the game. Carnegie House is dedicated to providing our guests with superior customer service, so we very much appreciate that you took your time to share your comments. We wish the very best for you in all of your travels.

Rebeckah Flowers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

More like a boutique hotel than a b&b--because of the verdant setting (gold course and gamelands), upscale decor, fine linens and ambience. But also a grand b&b with excellent cuisine. For breakfast, my omelet with domestic chevre was fluffy and seasoned with just the right amount of freshly ground pepper and chives, with a generous filling of creamy chevre. My spouse also enjoyed his 3-egg omelet with fresh mushrooms and gruyere. Must try dinner there next time. Our king bed was extremely comfortable, with the only drawback being the air conditioning unit that blew cold air right onto the bed. We turned the unit off to sleep, which made the room a little warm during a heatwave--but it wasn't bad. Very conveniently located near the Penn State campus but in a quiet setting.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
3.5 km away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
5.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
5.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
4.3 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#13 of 26 in State College
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.5 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 26 in State College
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnegie Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnegie Inn & Spa

Property: Carnegie Inn & Spa
Address: 100 Cricklewood Dr., State College, PA 16803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in State College
#14 Family Hotel in State College
#16 Business Hotel in State College
Price range (per night): $152 - $372
Hotel Class:3 star — Carnegie Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tranquil woodlands encircling State College, PA is a destination of innumerable charms - Carnegie Inn & Spa - an intimate little gem in the tradition of the finest European country manors. We invite you to experience the first AAA Four-Diamond hotel in central Pennsylvania, just the first of many distinctions setting the Inn apart as someplace truly special.Carnegie Inn & Spa is elegance personified, with a brand of hospitality and warmth long since vanished from the impersonal, chain-style hotels.But the most delightful surprise comes when you find out that we only look expensive... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carnegie Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnegie House Hotel State College

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing