We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than sleeping in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shamokin Dam
Atlantic, Pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than sleeping in the woods”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have stayed at this property a number of times with small kids as a base to go to Knoebel's Grove. The hotel is aged, a bit run down, and a bit dirty, but affordable. The included "breakfast" is a joke! Save yourself the frustration and run down the street to McDonald's or walk to the Bob Evan's just past the end of the parking lot. We have been back three times as the property is a decent value for all that we need it for....an ok place to lay exhausted heads and shower.

The one upside to this place is the pool. It is almost too nice to be with this hotel. Of course, if you are not there in the summer, it does not do you much good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuaennoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    31
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
37
29
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mine Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

hi i recently stayed at the econo lodge in selins grove pa, well at first when you hear econolodge you think cheap motel and misc thoughts enter your head. ok so we get there the staff is A-1 nice people very respectful and helpfull. upon arrival i noticed a lot of punk kids in the rear rooms that face the woods so i dont know if they put young roudys back there on purpose or it just seemed that way so i wanted far from them and requested a room in the front no problem sir got a front room.this is a pet friendly hotel dont care for that to much i read a review here about bed bugs could have been rovers fleas but our beds came up clean no bugs room small but in A-1 shape new carpet.if you have a lot of luggage i dont recomend the 2nd floor you need to go into a hall up a smallflight of stairs it was a pain.the pool looked nice but i didnt use it so go at your own risk .theres a resterant but i didnt eat there i dont care for mexican food also bob evens is right out front if your hungry.overall this place wasnt bad dont dig the pet thing but i would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kareokecowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stopped here on our way home from vacation for one night. At first, everything seemed fine - the rooms looked clean, the beds seemed comfortable. However, the next morning, my kids, who were staying in the room next to ours and had a horrible night, all woke up with bedbug bites up and down their bodies. They complained of being kept awake all night long, itching and scratching. The hotel manager would not speak to me when I called about it, and in the end, nothing was done - they said it was clean.
The breakfast was the worst I've ever had - you're allowed one drink and either 1 pastry or 1 bagel. You can't help yourself to more, and the options are extremely limited.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shamokin Dam hotels

Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I recently had a need to return to the Central Pennsylvania area and needed a hotel for the evening. Due to many activities going on in the area, the only place with vacancies was this EconoLodge that I booked. I was not expecting much and my expectations were even only barely met n some areas.

Here is my summary:

GOOD – Bed was comfortable and the room rate was reasonable

GOOD – The place had a spacious and landscaped pool area we used which was a pleasant surprise.

FAIR – Not expecting much, there were only 2 towels in the room and not even a plastic bag available for our dirty clothes.

BAD - The property is very unkept. I also noticed a broken card swipe for anyone to get into the hotel via a side door; an inoperative card swipe into the vending area, again leaving anyone in; a shattered-glass broken on the Laundry detergent dispenser with all the contents missing.

BAD – Our non-smoking room smelled from smoke and a few rooms I walked by that had open doors smelled from the animals I could see in the rooms.

HORRIBLE – The free breakfast (served in the Mexican Restaurant attached) consisted of: English Muffins, very weak Coffee and Juice. PERIOD. To complete the ambiance we also were presented with restroom C-Fold paper towels to use as our napkins. It was so bad that we actually went out for breakfast at a local restaurant after that. There was also a very unfriendly Breakfast Nazi manning the operation. I felt it was as close to a Bread & Water penitentiary meal that one could have. I mentioned my disappointment about the breakfast at check out and was told that it is out of their control and the owner of the restaurant is meeting the minimum standards for an EconoLodge as set by Choice Hotels and refuses to change anything.


Again, the reason for me choosing this property to stay at was because everything else in the area for miles around was booked. I am guessing that those who know did not make this their hotel of choice for a reason.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This hotel is very clean and the staff is very attentive. They accept small dogs with open arms.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fixmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamokin Dam
4.2 km away
Comfort Inn Selinsgrove
Comfort Inn Selinsgrove
#2 of 2 in Selinsgrove
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Selinsgrove
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Selinsgrove / Shamokin Dam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
Comfort Suites Lewisburg
#4 of 8 in Lewisburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
15.9 km away
Best Western Plus Country Cupboard Inn
22.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lewisburg/New Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge & Suites
Address: 3249 N Susquehanna Trl, Shamokin Dam, PA 17876-9117 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Shamokin Dam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Shamokin Dam
Price range (per night): $89 - $161
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge And Suites
Econo Hotel Shamokin Dam
Econo Lodge Shamokin Dam
Shamokin Dam Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing