We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the best!!”
Review of Prantl's Bakery

Prantl's Bakery
Ranked #2 of 54 Dessert in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Shadyside
Description: Prantl's is a bakery in the German tradition, with traditional fruit Danish and nut-filled coffeecakes, perfect for breakfast, dessert, or catering. We are the home of the famous "Burnt Almond Torte" and 100+ sinful sweets. For 40 years, we've satisfied the sweet tooth of our local community and beyond with great baked treats at competitive prices. Our bakers are talented and skilled and their expertise allows them to craft a multitude of tasty and delectable treats that can satisfy any palette. Prantl's is also the leading wedding bakery in Greensburg. Let us know how we can help! Visit our bakery today to learn more!
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Since I was a kid all bday cakes from Prantl's only. Now I'm 54 and still only Prantl's!! Every Holiday too!!

Thank OK2PLAYME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

We are glad you have chosen us to be a part of your birthday tradition!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

If you have no reason to go to a bakery find one, it's all about the almond torte, it is worth the trip. Then order a double chocolate cake for your birthday, you will be in heaven!

Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Thank you for the review Michael. So glad you enjoy our products!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

A Pittsburgh favorite ,a must go to. So many things to choose from. The almond torte is delicious. The lady locks reminf me of my grandmas. Yummy

Thank Sas16001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

So glad our lady locks bring back good memories for you. You will have to try to various other Jr. Pastries that we have to satisfy your sweet tooth too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

The burnt almond torte with custard is simply delicious and can not be duplicated! They have other stuff that is good also, but the torte is rated The Best Cake in America! It is a must try!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

That you so much for your Torte Love!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

My family and i were craving goodies so i heard about this place from a family friend. Well needless to say we bought a cake. And it was.."dry!" Not too impressive!

Thank LBAKERSTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prantl B, Public Relations Manager at Prantl's Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

We are sorry for your experience, and would love for you to give us a try again! If you would like, please order a cake of your choice from the store, and let the cashier know that Claudia has authorized a replacement cake at no charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Prantl's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing