We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in great prices from these sites
PricelineUSD 153
Hyatt.comUSD 153
Expedia.comUSD 170
Hotels.comUSD 170
CheapTicketsUSD 170
Agoda.comUSD 153
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
378
110
51
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
378
110
51
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small kitchen fire pit extended stay street noise parking fee full kitchen carnegie mellon room rate breakfast buffet home away from home central location great place to stay front desk staff definitely stay here again free shuttle shuttle service baum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd try here and we have to say it will be our last. Both stays we had were not so great experiences. We agree with the other reviews it is not sound proof! You hear every movement from doors closing, people walking(walking sounds like Godzilla stomping), toilets flushing, talking from surrounding guests. This isn't the fault of management, it is a design flaw. But one that most likely will be costly to them. As a loyal Hyatt member this property is not up to standards and without soundproofing it isn't a problem that they can fix.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 376aprilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dear 376aprilw,

We appreciate your attention to reviewing our hotel. We will take your comments regarding noise pollution under consideration as we continually strive to meet our guest's needs. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

New property, modern and clean, nice location, walkable to Carnegie Mellon and downtown, especially if you enjoy walking. Breakfast buffet was odd--the food had a plastic feel and taste to it. I'm not very particularly--but it was honestly barely edible. I was surprised, because everything else was nice. The omlete was okay except for an unpleasant smell--improper ventilation I think--because when they took the omlet bar outside on the weekend, it was fine!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hindish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Dear hindish,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and other travelers. I’m pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy our great location and comfortable accommodations while in town. I appreciate your comments regarding our breakfast and I have taken note. There is no better compliment than a return visit, so we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Fairly new extended stay hotel.
The area is 20 mins from downtown given traffic. Close to CMU and UPMC Shadyside.
Parking - $20/ night

Issues
Breakfast is substandard except for Roderick's Omelettes which he is clearly passionate about.
Stale bread, same pastries which never changed once in the 5 days we were there.
Tasteless what looked like boiled potatoes
Even the yoghurt flavors never changed.
Cut fruit did not look fresh either.

Housekeeping works weird hours 10 am - 1 pm
We were traveling with a toddler and our schedule was dictated by her naps and feeds.
Despite that being made clear we were always reminded that the housekeeping staff were going to leave and we had to allow them in to clean.
It became clear that we had to follow the schedule that housekeeping wanted because they had no one to do it properly later.
One of their staff even entered the room despite the ' Do not disturb ' sign being hung on the door knob to tell us she has to go home.

Indoor pool that is rented to British swim school.
Took my 6 yr old for a swim in the evening to get icy stares and awkward looks from parents and pupils alike because they had a swim class in progress.

They had no regular coffee in the rooms as they had run out ( read poor ordering by housekeeping)

They would keep 3 towels for us ( despite 4 of us being there) and very limited toiletries.
I would call everyday and ask for an extra bath towel and toiletries, on asking why could they not be more proactive and just keep the 4th towel instead of me calling every day ; I got blank stares and was told it was hotel policy.

The last straw was when we got back after a long day out to find the room had not been serviced. Staff were apologetic but did not seem too concerned or bothered.

It is clear that management wants to pinch pennies and cut corners where they ought to be looking after their guests.

Even a call and voice mail to the manager went unanswered.

Hyatt house never again !

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank advum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear advum,

I'm very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We spoke to you while you were in-house and made every attempt to meet your family's needs; I regret that we fell short. Your feedback is important to us and we have been in contact with you regarding your visit. We hope that you will reconsider a return stay with our brand. Once again, on behalf of our entire team - I offer my apologies.

Sincerely,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Stopped here on our way down to Florida for spring break and was very pleased! Everything in the hotel was gorgeous, modern, and spotless. The room was no different, essentially perfect. My favorite part was definitely the bathroom with tons of counter space, a huge mirror with amazing lighting, and a beautiful shower. Very quiet, but convenient location. Staff was extremely friendly, and breakfast was awesome.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hmbxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dear Holly B,

We are delighted you took the time to share your kind review; we value your comments. It’s wonderful to know your stay was pleasant. I’m glad you enjoyed our great location and well designed accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best,
Burke Flynn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We enjoyed most of our stay. The first night we had a problem with the people in the room next to ours. The staff was very understanding & apologetic. Made sure the 2nd night there were no problems. The breakfast had many choices for us to choose from. Everything was fresh and presented well.

Room tip: Make sure there are no college groups near your room.
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Dear Pam D,

Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority; I’m glad you enjoyed our friendly associates and amenities. I'm very sorry that inconsiderate guests interrupted the comfort of your stay. Reflections like yours allow us to monitor our guest experience. Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay, and we hope to host you again soon.

Sincerely,
Adam Poirier
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews