We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining at its best”
Review of Altius

Altius
Reserve with OpenTable
Altius is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,471 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: As Executive Chef & Partner of Altius, Jessica Gibson’s approach to contemporary American cuisine is refined and modern with a respect for the integrity and quality of her ingredient driven menu. Your first visit may be for the view, but you will return again and again to enjoy one of Pittsburgh’s premiere fine dining experiences.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

It can be difficult to find true fine dining on Mt. Washington, but Altius has figured it out. From the professional greeting at the door to the seasoned waitstaff, you know you are in good hands. My husband and I enjoyed our meals as well as the vibe at the restaurant. With our window view, it was a great night out.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rosemgab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

I’ve visited Altius several times and have never had a bad service. The menu is great and changes just enough to keep it interesting but not so much that you miss the favorite dish you had the last time you visited. I appreciate the popcorn, amuse-bouche, and the downright whimsical specialness that the pastry chef puts on her plates. ... This place is special but not pretentious. It is also expensive; but unlike a lot of expensive places that leave you asking yourself “what just happened” when the bill arrives. This place let’s you know, loud and clear— “you’ve just been fed by people who do it best... and you liked it !!”

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Areneec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019 via mobile

My wife and I visited Altius for date night as we were in town for a football game. We went there based on a friend’s recommendation and we were definitely sent to the right place. First off, the view from the restaurant is among the best you will ever see. The service is of the highest order and I am very particular about my steak and the Ribeye special was prepared perfectly. If we find ourselves in Pittsburgh anytime soon, we will certainly return to Altius.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank stephend122179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019 via mobile

Altius is by far the best restaurant we have ever eaten! We went to a wine dinner expecting to have a night alone and we were grouped with an amazing bunch at a long dinner table overlooking the city of Pittsburgh!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 44cassandraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

Took the family out for a holiday dinner and then disaster struck.
Had a reservation but waited over 45 minutes for our table
No where to wait
The bar is too small and very tight. Standing over people watching them eating their dinner
Our table was close to the front door and so a very cold breeze hit us every time the door opened
The food was well below the fine dining standard
A lack of flavor was covered with too much salt.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank martha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Altius also viewed

 

Been to Altius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing