We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for family birthday”
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #628 of 2,427 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cochran Road
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We went for a family birthday celebration. Several at table had collasal shrimp 5 course dinner, one had scallops dinner, one had lobster, shrimp and scallops and one had lobster and steak. Everything was tasty enough and well-prepared. Restaurant is older, so an update could be in order.

Thank DrTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Terri, On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We will be sure to share it with our Guest Relations Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed away for 2 years (I wrote a review back then because it was bad) and it has only become worse. Came for Father’s Day and was offered a sky high priced very limited menu. From the moment we walked in we couldn’t breathe from the horrible smell. No vents were running that I could hear Smoke filled the room. Our table was dirty and had to be wiped down. The grill was still dirty from previous use. The soup and salad came at the same time. Worst was the food. There was NO SHOW by the chef. Just a small flipping of a spatula at the beginning. The everything tasted so bland but so salty. The shrimp was tiny and the $8 add on gave me only 4 tiny shrimp. The sauces have lost flavor as well. The steamed rice finally came at the end of the meal. For 5 people and over $300 we now are physically sick an hour later.

Thank shoebox8402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

We take these matters seriously and never want to leave you disappointed. If you have not done so already, please contact Guest Relations via benihanalistens.smg.com/. Our team would like to follow up with you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Like another recent reviewer, we go about 4 times each year. Always a fun place especially for the grandchildren. The food is good and the chef is almost always great. Sign up for the $30 birthday deal, you get a free meal. During December you can get 30% bonis cash cards when you buy the card. Example: Buy a $200 card and you get $60 in extra (yes, free) cards. The free cards must be used during the first calendar quarter. The lunch deals are good but you don't get the personal chef.

Thank dhoffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for your continuous loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

We had 15 people on our party. The chef was excellent “Mom”. The waiter was also very good. Haven’t been here since 1989 and it was very good back then!

Thank chisel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benihana M, Public Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the dining experience! Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Celebrating December birthdays, this was a great place! Our server. Brandon, was fantastic. Totally attentive, friendly and provided outstanding service.
Our chef, Tyler, was awesome. He was the best chef we have had an here!
The food was delicious and perfectly cooked. This is just a really fun place to go.

Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing