We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner and view of the city”
Review of Grand Concourse

Grand Concourse
Reserve with OpenTable
Grand Concourse is not available through our online partner for your requested time.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 2,469 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 41 - USD 80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Carson Street
Description: Housed in the beautifully preserved Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station, the Grand Concourse restaurant at Station Square is a true testament of grandeur and elegant dining. With a cathedral stained-glass vaulted ceiling, marble columns, and a dramatic staircase, guests are quickly transported to the glamorous side of the Progressive Era with the luxury of a modern day menu. Our award-winning seafood restaurant boasts a fine selection of our signature seafood dinner specials, tender steaks, poultry, and on Sundays, the best brunch in Pittsburgh. Nestled comfortably on the riverfront and overlooking the downtown skyline, Grand Concourse at Station Square will outshine any restaurant near you-and any seafood restaurant Pittsburgh has to offer. Come join us for the most memorable dining experience around.
Reviewed 15 January 2019

This restaurant takes place in a very old train station. It's under up-keep construction, but the ambience and atmosphere was still very relaxing and beautiful to take in. One part of the dining room overlooks the train tracks, river, and view of the city; all of which were nice to see. The restaurant is classy, so looking nice is recommended if you attend. Didn't see small children there, but no reason why they couldn't attend.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jasonj456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,035)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2019 via mobile

Grand Concourse is in a spectacular refurbished old railroad station with excellent views of downtown Pittsburgh and the river.

The food is plentiful and there are numerous stations featuring everything from omelets and pasta station to freshly made top your own donuts. The food at the fresh made stations was warm and fresh but some of the foods on the buffet lines was not as fresh.

The price was fair for the quantity of food. The table server was delightful but several of the food station attendants were almost churlish. Dramatic comparison to the server.

Not a spectacular food experience but the combination of location and restored building with quantity of food make it worthwhile.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank DRRath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

If we had received our food more promptly I would have given this 5 stars - no doubt. We arrived around 7:15 on a Friday evening and were seated almost immediately. Salads and drinks arrived after a short wait. The waitress stopped a couple of times and offered apologies for our wait each time. Unfortunately at 8:30, we still had no other food. When we asked again, we were assured that it was coming. Then a manager stopped by our table to apologize and offer free desserts or a discount for our inconvenience (about 20%). Since we weren’t on a specific time schedule, just getting hungrier as we waited, we tied to be patient. The food was excellent-definitely 5 STARS. The place is absolutely gorgeous-definitely 5 STARS. I would definitely go again and recommend it AS LONG AS YOU AREN’T IN A HURRY FOR YOUR FOOD.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank TJinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2018

I booked a reservation for 9:00 am on Sunday, 12/23/18 as a special treat to my two daughters in town for the holiday. We arrived at 8:45 am, checked in and were told we would be seated promptly at 9:00 am. At 9:00 am our name was called and we were seated but then waited for 10 minutes with no sign of wait staff assigned to our table. We finally decided to go up and get some food, only to find that not all of the food was out and ready to serve. We returned to our table and met with our waitress who apologized profusely for not being aware she had seated guests. She took our drink orders and provided outstanding service throughout our visit. We went to the donut and waffle station at 9:20 only to find the donut machine just being filled and the waffle irons not hot enough to start making waffles. The donuts were finally ready at 9:30 am but the waffles were not ready until after 9:45 am. Evidently the station was revamped two weeks earlier and it now takes longer to heat up the irons, which they did not factor in when readying the restaurant for guests. As a result, the lines for waffles were very long and slow. Many patrons went to the omelet station since they could not get waffles or donuts so that line was exceptionally long. The manager did come to our table and comped us one meal, which was very generous. But, I found it disappointing that they stress punctuality when it comes to your reservation time and yet did not have the restaurant ready for service at the same time. The food was good, but not as good as I felt it was a year ago when we dined there at Christmas and not really worth $30 a person plus gratuity. Roast beef was extremely rare with no option to have a more fully cooked piece.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tenof10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2018 via mobile

Went with friends last night. Almost all the Soups came out cold and then more than half of the entrees were not hot. The kitchen was horrible. We felt very badly for the waitress whose fault it wasn’t.
This place has gone downhill. Not worth the money.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Huckabucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Concourse also viewed

 

Been to Grand Concourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing