We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Tower Was Amazing!”

Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse
Ranked #16 of 2,471 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 20 - USD 80
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 February 2019

Service is amazing. They will accommodate you the best they can - if you dont see something on the menu you want, ask them and they will make it happen! The seafood tower is out of this world! Oh, and the desserts are all homemade !
Highly Recommended.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Well to start the service was great both times and the first time was unbelievable food and the second not so much not sure when I will go back but I will give it a second chance

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Z513PZJoshA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2019

It's restaurant week in Pittsburgh, so we tried Eddie Merlot's on Wednesday and were very disappointed (see review), but decided to try again since we've had good experiences past years. We tried Hyde Park on a Friday night at peak time and hoped for the best. We were pleasantly surprised. We arrived at our reservation time, but wanted to have a Happy Hour drink at the bar first. They were happy to hold our table for us so we ordered a pair of Bees Knees (if you haven't had one, try it. It's a drink from Prohibition days made with Aviation Gin...YUM!) We enjoyed our drinks and when we were ready for our table 45 minutes later, they seated us immediately. We ordered the 3 course restaurant week special for $35.19/pp. I had the Filet Mignon and my wife had the Salmon. The service was fast, courteous, professional, and friendly. The food was hot, delicious and perfectly timed. What a difference from Wednesday at Eddie Merlot's (we don't recommend them). If you're looking for a high-end restaurant with great atmosphere, great service, and great food, not to mention a great location, this is an excellent choice. We were visited by the manager during our meal, plus the head waiter. All making sure everything was to our satisfaction. It was perfect. So we're going to try another place tonight... hey, why not.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

We weren't aware of this restaurant before, but thankfully it was right across the street from our hotel. We were in town to celebrate my wife's birthday and Hyde Park Steakhouse did not disappoint. In fact, just the opposite, it was awesome. The food was amazing and Rebecca, our server, was outstanding. We were worried that we might be underdressed in jeans, but that wasn't an issue. The entire staff treated us as special guests. We had the Coach Tomlin Wagyu Steak that we split, lobster mac, and asparagus. All of it was incredible. Huge chunks of lobster in the mac and the steak was among the best we've ever had. We had only done true Wagyu previously in San Antonio at Bob's Chop and Steak -- that was great too, but the Hyde Park experience was even better. Rebecca slipped my wife a birthday card from the staff and at the end of the meal one of the managers delivered a Smores-like dessert with a candle. The tangibles were all over the top great, but it was the intangibles like the quality of service, knowing when to stay away and when to stop by, engaging personalities, etc. This place and these people nailed it. We will be back.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passenger595852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

I got to experience the food at Hyde Park recently (business dinner). We shared the side dishes (asparagus, fries, green beans...). They were pretty simple, but still very good. I opted for sea food and had the sea bass, which was delicious and nicely cooked. The dessert (warm chocolate cake) was rich and exceptional. Everyone else enjoyed their dinner including steak dishes.
The service was ok and hit or miss. One waiter was pretty annoyed at one of my colleagues for an innocent accident. He made sure he showed his frustration. Other staff members were more courteous and friendly.
Overall, if you are looking for a great steakhouse in Pittsburgh, this is definitely one of the best in the city.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AlexBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing