We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely amazing and the location is perfect. I loved looking out my window and seeing PNC Park. 2 blocks away from Heinz Field and Grille 36 (everyone should go there...its the best). The room was beautiful and spacious. I loved the mirrors on the closet doors outside the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and had lots of pillows (extra ones were in the dresser at the end of the bed). Very clean. Only one complaint was being able to hear the people in the room above us having sex in the morning. The night clerk was absolutely amazing and helpful. I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsayrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 506 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

Clean, spacious, comfortable bedding, friendly staff, delicious breakfast! We utilized the two-bedroom suite for our family of 5 for a Pirates night baseball game and had a blast! There were restaurants very near for a decent selection. The price was right too!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Pittsburgh is a city of friendly, polite people & a great destination for baseball, football, cultural enlightenment & bird watching. We stayed at the Residence Inn North Shore, literally across the street from PNC Park. On the 8th floor, facing South, we had views of the stadium, and hillside across the Alleghany, the Monongahela & Ohio Rivers all the way to the Duquesne Incline on Mount Washington. The Residence Inn has a free shuttle to anywhere in a 2 mile radius, making travel less expensive. The shuttle drivers were a wealth of knowledge both of the area, its attractions & great places to eat. We never went wrong following their advice. One driver was telling us about the park around the National Aviary (we had just visited) & mentioned a vendor whose been selling Italian Ices there since 1934. I said I hadn’t had one since I was 12yrs old, he asked if I wanted one & then took us to the vendor. He had another run to do so he dropped us off & returned just as he promised 15 minutes later. He also gave us advice on where not to go on foot at night. Add in the free hot breakfast, the indoor pool, cardio/weight room, the efficiency kitchen in the room, the very reasonably priced mini-market in the lobby for snacks, drinks, cold remedies, etc. , an ATM, the pool room, the outdoor fire pit, the beautiful furniture, & the fantastic staff (especially Dylan at the front desk) & you’ve got a hotel that suits your every need. The room was beautifully appointed & comfortable. The housekeeping staff was friendly, & diligent, and always followed by a supervisor asking if there was anything else they could do to make the stay better. A computer & printer area, off the lobby, made it easy to check-in with our airline & print our boarding passes for our trip back home. I do spend a lot of time in the room & the Residence Inn was quiet, clean, comfortable & reasonably priced with all that it delivers. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: For great views ask for a room on the 8th floor or higher; want a view of the stadium ask for the So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishPrincess57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed with friends for a weekend, and was pleasantly surprised! Was just expecting a 'run of the mill' hotel room, but the suites are far from that.

We originally booked a pair of 2 bedroom suites, but, they were overbooked and we only got one. They were extremely accommodating, and gave us 2 additional suites (both with king bed and pull-out), which we were fine with. Why complain when you’re getting more for less?

Cyndi at the Front Desk was very helpful. Cheery as all go out, and laughed at our groups antics the entire weekend. Overall, people in Pittsburgh are quite friendly.

Housekeeping was great. We never saw them, but they swooped in and did a great job straightening our room.

The only drawback was we booked the hotel shuttle for the Saturday pm for 5:50pm (called in the am to reserve), to take us to dinner where we had reservations at 6:15pm. Not their fault, but traffic was awful, and the shuttle couldn’t make it back. Kept saying ‘another 10 minutes’. At 6:30pm, we took it upon ourselves, and walked the mile to the restaurant. **See my other review on Meat and Potatoes. Great place to eat!** On the driving around front, the shuttle seemed convenient, we just picked a bad night. FYI: cabs are brutal to try to get in Pittsburgh.

Overall – I would recommend this hotel for a group, business, and I would also be happy staying there with my family. Their facilities are clean, and location is very convenient.

If I am passing through Pittsburgh, I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: get a room facing PNC. you can see all the 'buzz' from your room while you're having a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markD78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great location. Very clean. Decent gym. Good sized rooms. If you wanted to, you wouldn't have to buy a meal or a cab while you were staying here, between the substantial breakfast and the manager's reception and the shuttle. I suppose it's a little pricey, but most Pittsburgh hotels seem to be, and this is an excellent location for many purposes. The shuttle is a real gem - they'll take you anywhere within 3 miles, but not an inch more! Kudos to Tim the shuttle driver, bro!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing PNC park, they won't automatically give it to you unless you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scruff2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.6 km away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 574 W General Robinson St, GPS use 214 instead of 574, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5701
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $125 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We do offer onsite parking for $25 a day with in and out privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing