We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on the Mexican War Streets
Ranked #4 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We wanted a quaint and classy place to stay in Pittsburgh and we're lucky enough to find it - even at the last minute. Jeff was very helpful and welcoming, and we were grateful for the off street parking. The house is beautiful, and it was amazing to see how they've brought this place back to its grandeur. To boot, it was within easy walking distance to local bars and restaurants. There's a large park just across the street. It's a great place to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KMP321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

The Inn was the perfect place for my husband and me to stay for an anniversary getaway. The owners Karl and Jeff are so nice and welcoming. You won't find better hosts! In Pittsburgh's North Shore in a quiet neighborhood, the Inn is a beautiful historic mansion. We stayed in Mr. Boggs's room, overlooking the park. There's a bit of street noise, but it's not too bad. The king-size bed was really comfortable. Breakfast is "expanded continental," meaning muffins and bagels, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. The Inn is a short walk to the interesting National Aviary and a longer walk to a T stop (the subway is free within the downtown zone). My only (very minor) complaint is that it would be nice to have lighting over the bathroom sink.

Room Tip: Mr. Boggs's room has a nice view of the park but is a bit noisier than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn41353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed over for a weekend while visiting colleges in the area. The mansion itself is a unique property located in a very walkable part of Pittsburgh and is easy to get to located in front of a very nice park. It took us 20 min during peak traffic to get to U Pitt.

The hosts Jeff and Carl are very considerate and friendly. Jeff provided is with great dining suggestions and we discovered a cute hole in the wall Nepali restaurant (Subba) within walking distance.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful room with classic decor and while fairly basic it's adequate and the fresh coffee is great.

We stayed in Emma's room which was pretty, spacious and had a nice roomy bathroom.

Overall Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

An old mansion in the North Shore neighborhood, across the street from a beautiful park and the National Aviary, this inn has much to recommend it. It is clean and well-maintained. The innkeepers are friendly. But we'd have liked a bathroom with more amenities - like a soap dish in the shower, some conditioner, and a shower cap. Old pipes are okay, but would be more acceptable if the room rate was lower. How about a newer TV with a remote that worked better - maybe a TV we could watch from bed? And a glass table in the path between bed and the bathroom? Homemade cookies were nice, but breakfast was just okay. Here is my bias: I usually favor anonymous comfort. Maybe my quirky B and B days are over. Just saying.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Jeff warmly greeted us, gave us ideas of things to do, took our luggage to our room. He left to go out of town for a few days, and Karl took over. For two days, he gave us more ideas, and told super interesting stories. Our room was comfortable and quiet. These two are clearly invested in the Inn. They are so organized with everything, and the Inn is obviously a labor of love. The continental breakfast was perfect for us as we choose to spend our calories later in the day. Tom straightened our room and provided fresh towels. Two of the simplest things they suggested were our favorites -- Randyland and Monterey Pub. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jlbailey109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 74 in Pittsburgh
4,489 reviews
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#45 of 74 in Pittsburgh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh Downtown
Morning Glory Inn
#3 of 11 in Pittsburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Mexican War Streets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Mexican War Streets

Address: 604 W North Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-4538
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: AU$212 - AU$258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Mexican War Streets 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Inn on the Mexican War Streets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Mexican War Streets (r. h. Boggs House) Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing