We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
105
31
11
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
31
11
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national aviary boggs room old mansion hard boiled eggs commons park across the street b bs lovely porch expanded continental dressing room within walking distance yogurt mini suite bed and breakfast breakfast is served make your own waffles pittsburgh's north shore
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed over for a weekend while visiting colleges in the area. The mansion itself is a unique property located in a very walkable part of Pittsburgh and is easy to get to located in front of a very nice park. It took us 20 min during peak traffic to get to U Pitt.

The hosts Jeff and Carl are very considerate and friendly. Jeff provided is with great dining suggestions and we discovered a cute hole in the wall Nepali restaurant (Subba) within walking distance.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful room with classic decor and while fairly basic it's adequate and the fresh coffee is great.

We stayed in Emma's room which was pretty, spacious and had a nice roomy bathroom.

Overall Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

An old mansion in the North Shore neighborhood, across the street from a beautiful park and the National Aviary, this inn has much to recommend it. It is clean and well-maintained. The innkeepers are friendly. But we'd have liked a bathroom with more amenities - like a soap dish in the shower, some conditioner, and a shower cap. Old pipes are okay, but would be more acceptable if the room rate was lower. How about a newer TV with a remote that worked better - maybe a TV we could watch from bed? And a glass table in the path between bed and the bathroom? Homemade cookies were nice, but breakfast was just okay. Here is my bias: I usually favor anonymous comfort. Maybe my quirky B and B days are over. Just saying.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Jeff warmly greeted us, gave us ideas of things to do, took our luggage to our room. He left to go out of town for a few days, and Karl took over. For two days, he gave us more ideas, and told super interesting stories. Our room was comfortable and quiet. These two are clearly invested in the Inn. They are so organized with everything, and the Inn is obviously a labor of love. The continental breakfast was perfect for us as we choose to spend our calories later in the day. Tom straightened our room and provided fresh towels. Two of the simplest things they suggested were our favorites -- Randyland and Monterey Pub. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jlbailey109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed 8 nights in July 2017. We were greeted by Karl one of the owners GREAT personable warm welcome until my husband was greeted by the other owner Jeff who scolded my husband for using the back door which he was informed to use by Karl! The so called breakfast left much to be desired. The "fresh muffins and pastries " had bugs in them EVERY MORNING! We brought this to Jeffs attention and he fluffed it off as if it wasn't a Big deal! needless to say we never ate breakfast! The rooms had horrible lighting, the one room we were in had the air handler in it and it was loud causing sleepless nights! The owners appear to have lost interest in running the place and it comes across as there isn't anything special as one would expect with a B&B! We have stayed in many other B & B's where we've experienced small touches leaving us with a positive lasting impression and a desire to stay again! We will not stay here again! The place needs to be completely renovated as there are visible water damage in both rooms we stayed in and throughout the Inn! The location to down town is fantastic and the other positive is the quaint Irish pub about a block away nestled in a community which had great food and warm atmosphere the Monterey Pub was an excellent experience a MUST to go to! I witnessed drug deals on the corner during broad day light which is no reflection on the Inn directly but an insight to the area as the neighborhood is going through a transition and has a ways to go!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank whendiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

First of all, this is a renovated mansion located on Pittsburgh's version of Central Park (the National Aviary and the Allegheny Commons Park West...) which makes it a wonderful home base for exploring Pittsburgh. (Parking is free and available on the street in front of the home...) The view from the front porch is of the park and Pittsburgh's skyline above the treeline.

Secondly...TO ALL THE ARCHITECTURE FANS OUT THERE...this mansion was designed by H.H.Richardson at the end of his life for Russell H. Boggs of the Boggs & Buhl Department Store (which was one of the largest department store in the nation in the mid-1800s...). This 9,00 square foot mansion was only his "pied a terre" (he had a 20,000 square foot estate out in the country...) where he entertained the Carnegies, the Fricks, the Mellons, the Forbes, etc...)

As an architect, I have to commend the two owners (Jeff & Karl...) for taking this enterprise on (it was a boarded up flop-house when they bought it in 1998...), and it's clearly been a labor of love. (Also as an architect, I wish they had spent less time and effort on period furnishings, and more time on quality plastering, sound insulation, stiffening up the old wooden floors, etc...a vintage vanity and faucet next to a vinyl tub & shower surround are a curious mix)

Nevertheless, we were very happy with the visit and plan to stay there again. (While I hope Jeff & Karl start including this home's architectural pedigree in their website & advertising for all of you who care about this, I also hope it remains "undiscovered" until after I pass through Pittsburgh again:)

Enjoy!

Room Tip: We slept in Mrs. Boggs' room, which was delightful (four poster king size bed, etc...), but I suspect the other rooms are great too.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews