We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barker House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
USD 94*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Super 8 Hanover(Hanover)(Great Value!)
USD 72*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 150*
USD 147*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 195*
USD 171*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
25
8
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
8
4
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

What a gem,stayed for two nights while visiting Gettysburg, location is excellent, close enough for convenience far enough to avoid the congestion, the accommodation's are quaint, although I'm sure some people look for modern spacious bathrooms, the fact that the shower was in a closet was cool. Elizabeth and Bob are such a sweet couple, there attention to the small things says a lot, breakfast was delicious and plentiful. There stories are both entertaining and exciting. Hopefully whoever purchases the business will continue to run it as well as this sweet and loving couple do now. All the best with your future endeavors. Gail Giallella/Kevin Bace

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyJean10, Owner at The Barker House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Thank you for the kind words. Bob and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do love what we do and will miss meeting such wonderful folks like your self.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

B&B's offer what motels and hotels cannot -- the personal touch. Typically, they are older houses, filled with antiques, run by elderly folks in their 2nd or 3rd career, and quite often for sale. All of the above is true for The Barker House in New Oxford, PA.

The Inn is situated on Route 30, one of the oldest highways in the nation and still quite busy. I unwittingly chose the "Laura Rose" room which is located in the front of the house. Traffic from the highway was a nuisance all night, although my husband, who can sleep through an earthquake, was not bothered. The room was also rather quirky. The toilet and sink were shoehorned into a tiny closet with just enough room for a toilet, sink with a small shelf and mirror above it, a toilet paper holder, and a hook on which to hang a towel. That was it. One did not linger in this water closet. The shower was housed in another closet next to the bed. Obviously, the plumbing was jury-rigged when the house was turned into an inn, but it is not a comfortable situation. Because the bed was close to the wall of the shower closet, there was no room for a bedside table on one side of the bed, and, therefore, no place for a water glass or night clock.

The common rooms downstairs included a large parlor, a library, and a dining room. Comfortable seating and lighting available, but you might have to share the parlor with the house cats. I like cats, but I was loathe to sit in the chair the cats had commandeered after they had departed.

Breakfast was more than ample -- juice, coffee, homemade coffee cake, a very sweet fruit compote, and baked eggs w/ Canadian bacon and English muffin.

A lovely back yard and side porch looked inviting, but the cold, dreary day we were there kept us from using and enjoying them.

When the Inn is sold, I expect the new owners will be busy refurbishing and redecorating this stately, old, historic house.

Room Tip: Avoid the Laura Rose.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Newlinview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyJean10, Owner at The Barker House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Sorry you where uncomfortable, but a compete description of all our rooms is on our website. Most folks enjoy the different layout of each room and can be comfortable for the one or two nights of there stay.
Our Inn Cats are part of who we are and it is clearly stated on our website. Most folks come because of our cats as they also have cats at home.

As for the sale of this property, yes someone will make changes just as we did. The person we perched the Inn from had 10 dogs and was pet friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

We stayed one night at this Bed and Breakfast. Built in 1700's it is well maintained, decorated and clean. We had one room facing the street but honestly had a very good sleep. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. We booked just the one night and it was easy to do; most want a minimum of 2 nights. Coffee and breakfast was good (French toast with apples). We would definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

Inn keepers were very warm and friendly. Nice place. Pleasant courtyard with fish pond. Near two great antique stores that are in walking distance. The breakfast Was excellent. Elizabeth and Bob can keep you entertained for some time with their stories. Great couple

Room Tip: Not on Lincoln Way side
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnw1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyJean10, Owner at The Barker House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

It is always so good to meet nice folks. Bob and I love all the stories we share with our guest.

We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Where do I start. We went here for our 20 year wedding anniversary and stayed a week. We stayed in the cottage and wow how quaint! We love how romantic it was. There's a balcony off the bedroom upstairs that looks out over a beautiful garden and pond. You get to hear the bull frog and what a lovely sound! The inn keepers Bob and Elizabeth are such kind and personable souls. From the moment I met them I felt like family. They serve a 3 course breakfast which is tasty. Elizabeth showed me the rooms in the main house and they are just as beautiful and cozy. I look forward to staying in them in the future. We didn't want to leave when it was time. We loved it so much we took our 10 year old daughter back for a nights stay 3 days later to meet them. So if ever in the Gettysburg area give them a try. They're about 10 miles from center of town.

Room Tip: The Cottage is private and quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ghosthuntingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyJean10, Owner at The Barker House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2015

Bob and I are so glad you had a wonderful experience at the Barker House.
We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews