We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
83
85
56
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
85
56
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pa turnpike room was clean breakfast attendant restful stay sofa bed living area waffles the breakfast area front desk staff exercise room late check staff was friendly easy access king room coffee maker enjoyed my stay mini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2015

The hotel was clean and well maintained. The rooms were nice, spacious and comfortable. The hotel offers a pool but no hot tub which was a bit of a let down. Access to free wifi and buffet breakfast was included. Coffee was terrible especially when you are used to Canadian coffee served up at Tim's or McDonald's. Make sure that you have a credit card with the full amount of your stay available or you will not be able to check in! We were given contradictory info when we booked the hotel but found out the hard way when we got there. They won't accept debit up front or cash. We arrived as a large group at midnight and they only had one staff member to check everyone in, it took far too long. They had informed us that they would make sure that at least two staff members would be available to help us upon arrival. Once checked in we had a very pleasant stay.

Room tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the parking lot across the street, no noise issues.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLR474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Rooms are very clean, bright and cheerful. The breakfast was very good. Woman who was in charge of the breakfast walked around and spoke to each guest making sure everyone had what they needed.Had two different cleaning staff in the elevator at different times and they both asked how our stay was and where we were from. Upon checkout a housekeeping member called out to us and thanked us for staying. I knew about the location of this hotel being right on the turnpike so requested a room on the opposite side of hotel. Got up to room to find it was on the side of the turnpike, called front desk and they apologized and brought a key up to me for a room on the other side. Did not hear any turnpike noise on that side of the hotel. Would definitely stay again!

Room tip: Request room on opposite side from turnpike
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kklammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2015

Nice hotel and great staff but odd-numbered rooms are 50 yards from a toll booth for the Pennsylvania Turnpike. All you can hear are cars and trucks gearing down for the tollbooth and then accelerating away again. Very very noisy.

Room tip: Odd-numbered rooms are very loud. Get an even numbered room!
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ssheppard0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoAnn D, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh Monroeville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2015

Other than the turnpike being located beside us, I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Having the turnpike beside us actually has it's pros and cons. Some guests notice some noise, while others don't. The pros are that we are located close to Pittsburgh, The Pittsburgh Zoo, Kennywood and many other traveler destinations. Many of our guests find it is a good midway point for easy access to visit the area, then easily jump on the turnpike for their return trip home. We will always try to place our guests on the side away from the turnpike the best we can when requested. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2015

If there was or is an award for the best housekeeper of the year, it is DANUTA MACIAZEK! Charming, professional, helpful and patient, she is the BEST! I have not seen another dedicated person like her in a long time and my family felt an instant connection with her. If I owned a hotel, i would hire her in a heartbeat!.

The breakfast lady, Korey Posie was another charming and methodical personality and she ran the breakfast area like clockwork. It was delightful and unexpected. She even carted away our plate-ware for us. She did all this with precision, charm and poise.

Hats off to the staff at this hotel that is fortunately situated right next to the UPMC hospital. Patients and their families staying here will get good care. Recommend!

Room tip: Choose even numbered rooms that do not face freeway.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank MALAYAPPAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We only stayed here one night but the location is great, right off the turnpike and close to shopping and restaurants. Hotel was clean, and staff very friendly and helpful. The lady taking care of the breakfast buffet Sunday morning was a real sweetheart and made sure she greeted everyone. Pool is a little small but grandkids still has a good time. Only issue was the bathroom sink drain ran slow, other than that I would stay here again.

Room tip: Even though our room was in the back adjacent to the toll booths we had no noise issues.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews