We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying Hard, But Needs Improvement”
Review of Zaiqa Kabob House

Zaiqa Kabob House
Ranked #73 of 208 Restaurants in Mechanicsburg
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

First, the bottom line: the food is relatively good, but certainly not great. This restaurant is relatively new and the owner is energetic, but certainly is understaffed ( there is a “help wanted” sign outside the place). He needs help badly and this results in slow and spotty service. The food came after delays and follow-up service was lacking, but the owner tried his best. The food was days old, but must have been well prepared when it was first cooked. Again, the restaurant is trying for excellence, but is missing the mark. However, the bright side is that the prices are reasonable and the place is comfortable. Overall, I would give a tentative recommendation, but would watch the place to see if it improves. The restaurant team is clearly on a learning curve with the eatery going either way.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank nycguy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Their Meat standards are very low.. ordered a Lamb curry and it had too much fat and rarely had any meat to it.. The guy on the register with Mustache was very rude and had no manners with customers!! Would not suggest to visit this place!! Good luck

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Roam727854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We just stumbled into this place as we were in the area looking for a unique dinner spot. We happen to enjoy a variety of ethnic foods (Thai, Vietnamese, Indian, Greek, Ethiopian, etc...), so we looked at the menu here, and it was very similar to Indian food we've had, but with some differences. Upon entering, it does not have much for ambiance - it's a restaurant in a strip mall with limited decorating. But the food was wonderful. We had one of their chicken dishes, some chicken shish kababs, lamb gyros, palak paneer, and chana massala, all topped off with Naan. Everything we had tasted very good. I cannot tell you if it's authentic or not, but we found the food to be fresh & flavorful, with a nice mix of spices. I did not realize that they are actually a Pakistani restaurant until I read some reviews today, and that makes perfect sense. They had some things that we've never seen on an Indian menu, and they had a few different names for similar dishes (Palak vs Saag). At any rate, the food was very delicious, and the service was also very good, so this is going to be a place that we will want to revisit again, and again and probably again.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

First time in. A simple room with little grace. But my host was friendly. The platter of meat I ordered had four different kinds of chicken and lamb. All was very tasty.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

It was really good food. A place you need to plan to take your time and enjoy time with friends. They are a little slower paced but it is worth it. The food is good. It's not a fancy place but it's comfortable. The slower pace is sometimes a good thing because too often we rush every where. It was nice.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank TeriF212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zaiqa Kabob House also viewed

Mechanicsburg, PA
 
Mechanicsburg, PA
Mechanicsburg, PA
 

Been to Zaiqa Kabob House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing