We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
129
8
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quilt room garden room four seasons bed and breakfast breakfast was delicious fantastic hostess great cook play cards longwood gardens dietary restrictions other guests perfect weekend spent two nights sight and sound theater great conversation quiche cookies
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Stayed here 1 night last summer with a friend on our trip around PA - it turned out to be a great choice! Beth, the owner, was so friendly and worked with us on being somewhat late to arrive. The place is charming and quiet/peaceful - surrounded by cornfields but a fairly short drive to restaurants. The house is adorably decorated, and our room was small but cute with a handmade quilt on the bed. I will say the bathroom was super small, but had what we needed (and I understand there are bigger rooms you can book).

The breakfast Beth made was outstanding - fruit (the good kind like nectarines, not just the cantelope stuff you get at restaurants), a full breakfast, and bananas foster. It's been months and I still remember that banana dessert! Quick but great experience and wouldn't hesitate to book again if I'm in the area.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

Beth is a charming hostess who also produces amazing three course breakfasts. Hot coffee awaits you when you wake up. Rooms have been upgraded nicely yet retaining the charm of a turn-of-a-Century home. The room we had was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Walnut Lawn's location is convenient to all Amish activities. It is a charming place to stay.

Room tip: back rooms might hear less street noise
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Beth greeted us at the front door upon our arrival and was such a joy and help. She was definitely the hostess with the mostest and her breakfasts were "wonderful". It was a great choice in celebrating our 47th wedding anniverary and is a place we'll return to when going back to Lancaster.

Room tip: Make sure when booking to ask for a room with a private bath!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Our room was so comfortable and the owner was a great hostess. The only thing is the bathroom we had for our room was accessed outside the room but it had a small bathroom in the room and a balcony so its ok.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigernic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

From the first greeting on the doorstep, we really felt being in a "home from home". Beth, the innkeeper, was the perfect innkeeper and we had a lovely 2 nights stay.

Some appropriate words describing Walnut Lawn; clean and tidy, well equipped, quiet location, easy parking, nice rooms - and splendid breakfast. For us, coming from Europe. (Norway) this kind of breakfast was something we were not used to, and it was prepared and served in a delicate way! Thanks again, Beth!

The landlady; very friendly and helpful.

Look no further - just book it!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews